We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merchant Chippie

Merchant Chippie
Ranked #474 of 2,386 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice exterior, was served but a young woman named Celeste who's person hygiene was beyond poor, dirty fingernails strong smell from her, made me not want to eat my food, will not return

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BugslifeAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    22
    9
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Glasgow's best chippy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Always fresh, always cooked to order. Staff always pleasant. & you can sit in with a lovely haddock supper for only £3.70. Superb. Had a couple of king scallops, done in breadcrumbs, on the side last time - lovely. As many of you will know, Glasgow isn't exactly famous for fish & chips (check out the Blue Lagoon chain & you'll see what I mean ;(( ), but this place is out there on it's own as regards quality & consistency. Check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Chippie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Came across this restaurant by accident enjoyed the freshly cooked fish and chips so much have travelled back 16 miles roundtrip three times. now. Excellent ,highly recommend a visit sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishtraveller010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Still a very high standard.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My most recient visit to the Merchant City Chippie in July 2013 found that the price of freshly cooked haddock and chips has been increased to £3.70 from £2.99 (no complaint here)......this being said the quality and service (from the lovely server June) is still second to none and I still think this is the best "Chippie" in Glasgow. Keep it up, I will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing chip shop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Absolutely love this place. The shop is small but there's a few tables for sitting in. One of the best priced chip shops I've ever come across, under £3 for a half pizza supper and I'm told the fish is even better value in comparison to other chip shops. (not a fish eater myself!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchant Chippie also viewed

 

Been to Merchant Chippie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing