We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I have been fortunate to stay in the Radisson Glasgow on a number of visits to Glasgow on Business and after staying in most of the other supposedly top hotels in the city this one really is the best. The rooms are contemporary and spacious and the wet room bathroom is a nice added touch. I have always found the staff friendly and the service first class and of course the location is also very convenient with the hotel being right next to central station. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a first class hotel in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank i-am-lost-again!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,916)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,637 - 2,643 of 2,916 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2007

Spent 1 night in Glasgow's SAS Radisson. LOts of hype and expectations about this new 5 star hotel.

Location is excellent for access to the city centre.

Checkin was efficient and quick, although no offer of concierge to take bags to the room while we had a coffee after a long drive.

The room we stayed in was on the 6th floor with no view of the city, only another towerblock, although not too fussed as this is city center. Room was very clean and in resonable order although a light did not work and the plug on the iron was cracked with wires exposed.

Breakfast was the let down of the stay. We had to que for 15 minuites to be seated, when we were seated there was no applogy or explanation for the wait. We were told tea and toast would be brought to the table and after 10 minuites we had to ask. The toast has still not arrived to this day. There seemed to be no organisation of staff in the restaurant, although there was plenty of them. The breakfast was a buffett style with plenty to choose from and the quality of the food was good. Although for a 5 star hotel I would have expected a cooked to order and waitress service.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank matthewvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Booked a business class room to celebrate our anniversary. After reading of soft beds, I requested a firm bed on the white space of the internet booking form. On arrival at room, bed was very soft, so I contacted reception who said that website not working properly, not giving them special requests - strange as I could access those details using my name and the booking ref they gave me. They offered to put a board under the bed, but it already had one, so clearly they don't make a difference. They couldn't find a replacement mattress so upgraded us to a corner suite with an orthopedic bed.

Whilst suite was nice, to be honest I have been in cleaner rooms and the curtain pull was not connected and no instructions in room for coffee machine. A few little things that should be right in a hotel of this class. Also it was a smoking room with no ventilation at all. I got the staff to leave a Fabreze spray for me to use regularly as very strong smell soon came back.

Bed was very comfortable. Following morning shower, hairdryer wouldn't work, so I rang for a replacement. This came but still didn't work in the socket next to the mirror. Turned out to be a problem with the sockets, half of them in room weren't working, including that next to coffee machine.

Following breakfast (good selection and service), I completed a comment card, listing the problems I had encountered and stating that I would not be returning to this hotel. On return to room following day out, curtain fixed, coffee machine instructions there, extension cable plugged in to allow us to use things, so they fixed what they could.

Following day, returned after day out to find that we could not get in the room, the key card wouldn't work, so obviously back down to reception. Manager was on reception and apologised for problems and offered to deduct a night's accommodation charge.

The impression I left with is that I may return after all. Customer service is only tested when things go wrong and I think they did what they could to put things right promptly and without argument. Found all staff to be pleasant and helpful.

A few things they need to work on though - fix the website, get some new mattresses and sort out some ventilation. Also I would not bother with a business class room, although more floor space, the partition makes them feel smaller. Suite is certainly not worth the full rate.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

I stayed at the Glasgow Radisson on business recently. The room was spacious, clean and had nice decor. The free in-room wifi and wired internet worked well (note that the hotel do not guarantee wifi in all areas - the primary connection in rooms is the wired connection). The bed was firm but comfortable - I slept well.

I didn't eat in the restaurants except to have breakfast, which was a plentiful buffet of both 'full Scottish' hot and cold foods. The latter included a wide selection of cereals, fruit, meat and dairy products.

The hotel is located on the edge of the business district, a short walk from the main shopping area. Glasgow Central station is also very close - I was told by a local that the area close to the station may be best avoided at night.

The hotel had no record of my reservation (made via a big commercial bookings agency) on check-in; fortunately they did have a room available. I have no way of knowing whether the hotel or agency were at fault.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank m1nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Very dissapointed with this supposed 5 star hotel. We had a sheet of plywood under our matress, which we could see becasue there was no sheets on the bed.The staff in the restaurant could not accomodate us, so told us sit in the bar and they would take our order, they never did after several times asking. The room to us was very cramped and not five star treatment by any manner of means. The only plus we could find with the hotel was its location, just a block away from main shopping area, and near many cafes and bars, which have far better service.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank IrishChick25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2007

Having read so many excellent reviews, we decided to stay at Radisson SAS for two nights. We had a family room, two rooms adjoining. These two rooms represented completely different qualities. One room had a smoky atmosphere with dirty stains on the bed linen. The other room was cleaner but the smaller of the two. The lifts were dirty with spit on the floor. Really, for a hotel of this class, I really expected better standards in cleanliness. However, they did serve an excellent buffet breakfast and the room service meals were good. I would not return to this hotel should I have to travel to Glasgow again!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DDDSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

The Radisson SAS is not the same as Radisson in the US so don't expect sleep comfort beds that adjust instead expect to get a bed which feels like its over 25 years old. Only the 5th floor of the hotel has beds which are firmer. I am not one who likes a firm bed but the "soft beds" on the other floors are horrible. I woke with the worst back ache in years, it only got worse until they were able to switch my room to the 5th floor. (That bed is much better but still nothing to write home about). The front desk made it seem that this is a common complaint from Americans staying at the hotel. It's ashame because everything else is very nice. The hotel is clean and modern and has nice amenities and many choices of eating but if you can't get a good nights sleep forget it. I have since moved to the Marriott the beds are great, the location is 5 blocks from the Radisson but its not in the greatest location. It takes an extra 5 minutes walk to the center of town but it looks dreary even so I will never stay at the Radisson again until they update their beds. PS on the weekends the AAA rate at the Marriott was 56 GBP, half the cost of the Radisson.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fdipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,943 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,325 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
3,332 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,694 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $117 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing