We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Utopia for Road-Weary Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Utopia for Road-Weary Travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2005

We flew to Scotland from the US in July 2005. The Glasgow SAS was our first hotel and we could not have made a better choice. This is definately the hotel-of-choice for Glasgow. The room was very quiet and extremely clean. The bed was incredibly comfortable (we woke up at 11 am- I haven't slept that many hours in years!!!) The hotel staff was exceptional. I wish I had written down the name of the bellman so I could specifically thank him. He was unbelievably helpful and kind. Everyone we came in contact with bent-over-backwards to make sure our stay perfect. We walked all over Glasgow that night to find a restaurant and ended up back at the hotel. "Thank Goodness" because our meal was fantastic! The dishes were extremely tasty. The menu was a perfect mix of tried-and- true favorites combined with some new tastes we had yet explore. The presentation of every course was fabulous. It was a quiet, relaxing and smoke-free environment that was just exactly what we needed. In the future we will definately stay our first 1-2 nights at the Glasgow SAS to rest and get over the jet-lag before we venture into the rest of the country. It was the perfect way for 2 very road-weary travelers to start their vacation. Prior to embarking on our trip we had rcd many warnings about the quality of the hotels in this part of the country. Our experience at this hotel could not have been more perfect. My husband and I are both Platinum status with Marriott and Diamond status with Hilton. In other words, we sleep in hotels more often than we do our own bed! This hotel surpassed all of our expectations. To all of the staff, Thank you very, very much. You are a gem!!! Kelly & Mike

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    947
    321
    117
    53
See reviews for
294
1,094
133
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2005

It's not often I would give anything 5/5 but the Radisson Glasgow is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at.
From arriving at the hotel, which is close to shopping areas and also Glasgow Central (p.s. trains to Edinburgh go from Queen St. Station) I was impressed.
The hotel lobby looks very impressive, with a glass frontage and glass elevators. The receptionist at check in was very friendly, and showed me pictures of the types of room on offer, there are three themes to choose from, Nordic, Modern and City. This set the scene for a great stay. The room was very modern and generally excellent. I got a double room on the top floor with a view over the city through the glass window which extended from wall to wall.
The room itself was very clean, well air conditioned and excellently designed. It had everything I needed, and when I realised I'd forgotten my toothbrush one was brought up within minutes.
I had a great stay at the Radisson Glasgow, if only all hotels could be this good!

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karljhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2005

This is a nice, modern hotel of a caliber that I haven't often found in Europe. Room was so comfortable. Free access to full gym (not just a hotel gym) is a plus. As for the location, I think other reviews overstate how good it is. Yes, it is just southwest of the Glasgow Central train station... which lent convenience on our arrival. Our departure was from a different train station, so the proximity to Glasgow Central really only helped us once. For that and other reasons, being a couple blocks NE would be preferable in my opinion. The location is fine but shouldn't be the reason you pick the place.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
Thank SPGLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

In terms of location, the Hotel is perfectly sitauated. Right next to Glasgow Central (perfect for GNER and Virgin travel if your travelling from the South) and the shopping streets of Argile St and Beuchan St. This does not mean its noisy - you can't hear anything as hotel is well sound proofed (I couldn't hear the rumble of trains or the noise of pedestrians shopping).

The hotel is very modern with a lot of space. Great glass lifts and common areas whcih are clean and to a high standard. the bars and restaurants are also half decent.

The staff a very polite and knowledable.

The rooms are air conditioned (heaven) with great facilities from iron/ironing board in every room, tea/coffe making facilitieies and even room in the fridge for 'personal use'. The beds are extremely comfy (great duvets!) and the bathrooms are clean and well stocked (cotton buds, nail file etc).

Breakfast is also top notch - black pudding, great sausages, choice of eggs, wide selction of fruit and breds etc

All in all a great hotel and very reasonable (we stayed for £80 per room per night).

Highly reccomended - i'm so impressed i'm going to stay again with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2005

We've stayed in quite a few Radisson hotels in various locations and have found the Radisson in Glasgow to be up to the chain's usual high standards. The building itself is very impressive (it won an architectural award a few years ago), the girl who checked us in and out was absolutely delightful and couldn't have been more helpful and the location is great if you're arriving by train.

We didn't bother with breakfast, just a cup of tea in the room so I was very impressed with their milk delivery as I hate that UHT milk. You just leave an order tag on the door knob the night before and you will find a quarter pint of milk outside your door at a specified time in the morning! The bar downstairs also has a really nice bar food menu.

Helpful?
5 Thank DeeCeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2005

This hotel has many good features but lets itself down in my opinion with its breakfast and leisure centre.

Good points are:

- the location is very central, very near the shops and railway stations, yet not noticeably noisy at night; and the soundproofing of the rooms is excellent
- the entrance lobby and rooms are REALLY stylish and well-designed in a modern style
- the bathroom has underfloor heating and is very well-appointed
- the staff are friendly and efficient
- there are two impressive and relaxing bars, with good service

Sadly, it seemed to me that if the manager was only to employ some mystery shoppers they would highlight the following problems:

- the breakfast is merely average: a good choice, but if you want e.g. a fried egg you have to ask the waitress and then wait for it to appear
- the food in the hot buffet didn't seem at all fresh and the scrambled eggs looked inedible
- our waitress brought us toast that was totally black! - and whilst she replaced it, she didn't seem to realise some people might not like it that way!
- the breakfast room was cramped and suffered from a lack of staff
- the swimming pool was functional only and would have benefited from some chairs and greenery
- my wife and I went there for a quick swim, but first each of us had to complete a form providing personal information including emergency contact numbers for each of us! Totally over the top, we thought
- instead of a simple coin- or key-operated locker, you are given a large padlock with a combination lock: not very easy to use, and if you need reading glasses but haven't brought them, don't even bother trying!
- access to the Leisure area was very difficult when we were there: the lift was out of operation and we had to traverse 2 flights of stairs plus narrow fire escape corridors
- don't bother trying to use the express checkout, as despite it featuring on the hotel's details in your room, there isn't one
- there was no questionnaire offered

Overall, yes we would go there again, but feel that with a few tweaks it could easily be a really excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cltc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2005

For a business hotel I found it to be excellent.

Very centrally located with very courteous and friendly staff.

Very spacious atrium gave the entrance a very rich feel.

Probably best for business travellers but a good bet for any overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,119 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,679 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing