We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Modern clean hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here with a group in August 2013. The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are large and comfortable. The lobby bar is a great place to hang out. Our breakfasts were plentiful. Loved the location since it was so convenient to pubs, museums, and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Andrea27265,
Thanks for the Tripadvisor review.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and I hope to welcome you back to Glasgow in the future
Kindest Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    970
    330
    120
    56
See reviews for
303
1,126
136
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel very modern. Conveniently located. Quiet. Staff professional, friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and was ready early. Clean, spacious and nice decor. Picture missing above bed. Shower water pressure pretty poor. View from our window wasn't great. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and really appreciated the fact it was on until noon (nice long lie!) Lots of choice including vegetarian options and all ethical (e.g. free range and fair trade).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Donna U,
Thanks for the Tripadvisor review!
Our breakfast offering is something we are particularly proud of in the hotel, I'm glad you enjoyed the variety.
Next time you're in Glasgow I hope we shall see you again.
Kindest Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel as part of a 5pm.co.uk deal and we can have no complaints at all. We would have been happy paying full price, the hotel was that good. We did upgrade our room and were more than happy with what we got.
We ate in the hotels Collage resturant and found the food to be fantastic with table service to match. Following our meal we retired to the lobby bar for a coffee and found the atmosphere there to be welcoming and enjoyable. The hotel is ideally positioned for getting about the city centre, a stones throw from Central and Queen Street stations and the main shopping centres. Will definately stay here again. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rixter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Rixter5,
Thanks for the excellent trip advisor review.
I'm glad to hear that we could contribute towards an excellent stay in Glasgow and I hope to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Pros:
- Super friendly staff who let me check in at 10am as I arrived really early
- A lovely tray of different berries and a large bottle of water had been put in my room when I got back from work
- Loads of choice at breakfast.
- A complimentary apple came with my meal when I ordered room service (I like small touches like this!)
- It took me about 2 minutes to walk to the hotel after getting off my train, very close!
- The room was big and felt very light
- Nice big fluffy towel
- Ipod dock in room

Cons:
- The bed sheet had a few small tears in it
- the windows were filthy. I'm not just talking about a few spots of dirt, they were caked it in and obviously hadn't been washed in a really long time (see pic) I was in room 665 so perhaps it's harder to reach them at this height.
- I was woken by a really loud squeaking/screeching sound at around 3am which went on for about half an hour. No idea what it was.
- The remote control didn't work for the TV
- The toilet hadn't been cleaned properly and it was dirty underneath the seat
- The drain was blocked in the bath so I was standing in a pool of water which didn't drain when I had a shower



I was put up here by my company when working in Glasgow so didn't mind any of these things too much as I was only staying one night and wasn't paying for it myself, However if I'd have been paying myself I think I would have been disappointed (not sure how much it is but I'm guessing not all that cheap). I've stayed in 5 star hotels before and although there were some lovely touches like the berries brought to the room I really felt it let itself down with real loack of attention to detail. There's no way a proper 5* hotel wouldn't have clean windows or a working remote with the TV or be putting torn sheets on the bed. I'd say this is a 4 star hotel at most. I did read that in their leaflet in the room that if you weren't happy with anything then to let them know and if they couldn't fix it then you didn't pay so I guess that redeems it a little and perhaps if I'd have been staying longer or paying myself I would have done this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quirquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello quirquito,
Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow.
It sounds like we could have provided a higher level of service during your visit.I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing Radisson Blu and hope you will choose Radisson Blu in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As part of a tour group I have recently stayed at the Radisson Blu, Glasgow for two nights. It is a modern hotel with friendly and helpful front desk staff. The room is big enough to feel comfotable in. The hotel serves a scrumptious buffet breakfast with a good variety of food choices. Wi-fi was easily accessible and there is also free internet in the foyer.The location of the hotel is in the city centre within walking distance to the train station, the airport and other shops. I have enjoyed my stay at the Radisson and will recommend it to to others. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Suzume,
Thank you for the great Tripadvisor review
we hope to welcome you back to Glasgow soon
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

May be it’s because of a lack of competition at the top of the market in central Glasgow but the Radisson Blu in no way fulfilled my expectations of a five-star hotel. One could quibble about the somewhat run-down furniture in the rooms, a bath with chipped enamel or the quality of the house keeping (some dusty surfaces and an obvious hair that wasn’t mine). However, the noise levels in the hotel are simply not what one expects when choosing a hotel in this price category..

I was unlucky enough to be trying to get to sleep early on an evening when an “engagement party” was rocking the premises. Already unable to open the window because of the noisy ventilation systems outside, the dance music (some five floors lower down) sent vibrations through the building.

The people at the front desk, though friendly, were rather helpless in the face of the problem and asked if I would like them to ask the band “to turn down the bass” to which I replied that I hadn’t chosen such a hotel in order to have to advise them how to deal with the issue.

After traipsing (in vain) through the building viewing various rooms to see if a “quite” one could be found, I regret not sticking to my original intention of checking out and going somewhere else.

When leaving the hotel the next morning I was struck by the Radisson “100% Guest Satisfaction Guarantee” notice on the reception counter and pointed out that I was in no respect happy or satisfied with my experience in the hotel. The extremely friendly member of staff did apologise but that was that. I can only come to the conclusion that the Radisson group takes the offer of a “satisfaction guarantee” as seriously as it does the well-being of its guests. I appreciate that the hotel has to make its money somehow - in Glasgow that is certainly not by offering the level of comfort one would expect from a supposedly top-range hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Assistant Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for the review.
David Allan our General Manager will be in touch with you directly
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel following a tour of Scotland and I must say I was impressed with a good modern hotel with all the conveniences. Room was large, bed comfortable and a good sized bathroom. Staff are very polite and professional with the hotel's location making it a good base to visit Glasgow's sites. Two minor negatives though. The room's floors aren't carpeted which I thought was unusual for a 5 star hotel. Secondly I asked for a wake up call for one morning which never came through. Not good if you have to get up and catch a train in the morning. Apart from this I did enjoy my stay and I would recommend the Hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Russ_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoriahowie, Radisson Blu Glasgow at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Travel_Russ_20,
Thank you for the Tripadvisor review
I'm glad to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow.
We do offer 3 different styles of standard room at the hotel so next time we can allocate a room with carpetted floors which may be more to your liking
I will pass on the feedback regarding the wake up call and ensure this issue does not happen again
Kind Regards,
Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#41 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,741 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing