We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely the place to stay for Central Glasgow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
South West London/Surrey
Level Contributor
287 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Surely the place to stay for Central Glasgow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I spent alot of time researching the large hotels in Central Glasgow, and chose the Radisson Blu based on the location (very central and directly opposite Central Station) and many positive TripAdvisor reviews. We were not disappointed, this was a great choice, and absolutely the hotel you should choose.

We booked a couple of months in advance and got an excellent deal via booking.com, just over £80 per night for 3 nights, room only. The room was spacious, modern, clean and stylish. Large and comfortable double bed, floor to ceiling window. Complimentary tea and coffee provided, also a complimentary bottle of water, although the water was not replenished after the first day, not a problem though. Good quality toiletries provided in the bathroom.

I've read many comments on here about breakfast being crowded, expensive, etc, and same for the bar in the hotel. Fact is you do not need the breakfast option, there is a Wetherspoon directly opposite the hotel, we had breakfast there every day, it was always virtually empty and the prices were very cheap - porridge and coffee for £2.09! Full English (or Scottish!) breakast plus tea or coffee for £3.09! and you dont have to put it on your plate yourself! and you can be back in the Radisson 1 minute after you finish, its a no brainer in my opinion!

We didnt use anything at the hotel apart from the room for sleeping, so cannot comment on everything they provide, but would highly recommend you staying here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    947
    321
    117
    54
See reviews for
294
1,095
133
655
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I attended a formal evening here. I probably attend 20 similar events all over the UK. The hotel is clean, vibrant and the staff are mostly attentive.
Let's now deal with the elephant in the room! The drinks are a fortune. Come on Radisson, you are literally losing business because people are bringing bottles of wine into their rooms, drinking in the nearby bars and avoiding buying too many drinks in your bar.
Why not have a think about residency income versus potential drinks income? Reduce your drink costs by around 30% and you'll be similar to adjacent places and retain your customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowCurryClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have been eating in this restaurant, every week for the past year.
It is a bit strange, in that the food is excellent and yet it is low key.
Very relaxed atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff.
I particularly enjoy the fresh bread and oils at the start of the meal.
That part is free !!! The soups are always first class.
James Reid is the head chief, and he makes sure you will not go away hungery.
Special thanks are deserved by Michael, Angus, and Carmen.
Every member of staff always gives their very best. This allows me to enjoy
Glasgow and to eat first class food, while Glasgow Hilton resturants are again closed.
Radissons restaurant is a winner because it is open every meal time except
sunday lunch.
After my meal, I very much enjoy sitting in the bar area. Stunning street
view, especially cast iron facade of central station. Free pool table.
Thank you Aneta.
The only downside is the parking is on the street.

One block south is the river Clyde. Its is landscaped and very attractive.
BEWARE THE THEFT OF CAMERAS ON CLYDESIDE. Camera theft is a major
problem. I still love to walk there, but now I dont take my camera, nor my laptop.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alanfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for Valentines day and it couldn't have went any better. We got a morning check in and went for a days shopping in Glasgow, I had requested a bottle of Champers for my partner and some flowers for her arrival at the hotel and was wasn't disappointed. Room was spotless and tons of room, wee problem with the tv channels and heating but they were minor problems but were never rectified after we made it known to reception staff. Breakfast was buffet style and again spot on. Downside to this hotel is the bar prices, was quite shocked by this and maybe needs addressing as there is a Weatherspoons over the road which was filled with guests from the hotel. Overall I will be spending more nights here in future but certain issues need to be looked at.

Room Tip: Ask for level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as i was going to a gig at the secc and we got a great deal. Bed and breakfast stay for £69, normally the hotel is more expensive than this so we were really pleased that we got this deal. The hotel is right in the city centre, easy access to restaurants and bars and beside central station. Check in was quick, friendly and no hassle. The rooms were large and modern and very clean. Bed was huge and very comfortable, decor was nice. loved the bathroom with the lights at the side of the mirror. I couldn't find a hair dryer in the room though which i needed. We choose to have breakfast in bed which was lovely. There was lots to choose from but i didn't think much of the breakfast and didn't eat alot but that could be because we were drinking the night before. The hotel was quiet and felt very relaxed. I would love to stay again in the future

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wee_stephy_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I ave stayed here a few times now and have to say that I am always happy to return.

Centrally located, with excellent service and good value for money, this Hotel is hard to beat for a short business or leisure trip.

A modern and large Hotel with what feels like new or nearly new decor and fittings. Bedroom are of a good size with designer (ish) bathrooms and comfortable beds / bedding. The business class rooms seem to all have a rather strange column in the centre of the room which hosts a small TV, coffee maker etc. You also get Nespresso machine which gets a big thumbs up from me.

High speed wi-fi and internet work very well throughout and are often included as part of a package. Only irritation is the TV - tiny screen and clunky remote control.

Breakfast is particularly good, with a cooked to order option which is increasingly rare these days. All in all, very good and recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms are of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed on a Friday night which cost £143.. So we were expecting a fantastic stay as it is 5 star.
The hotel was lovely inside and very modern, however on the night we stayed celebrity's were staying which resulted in high security. After returning from a evening meal, sercurity demanded to see our room key in an inappropriate manner, however there was two middle age couples in front of us that were not approached at all. Next we accidentally got off the wrong floor then suddenly we were approached again asking for our surname and room number which he then radioed down to reception to check. We were left feeling we were not welcome as guests. I understand the security has to be high in these situations but I feel they didn't communicate with guests appropriately.
We complained at reception in the morning and the gentleman on reception said that we could get upgraded for our next visit, I feel that money back or a voucher would have been more acceptable.
I have been to many hotels that have been alot cheaper but at least I felt welcome.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gingerninja1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossSaunders, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi gingerninja1234,

Thanks for the honest appraisal of your stay with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Glasgow.

It sounds like we could have provided a higher level of service during your visit. I believe we have contacted you personally to discuss the trip in greater depth.
I hope this experience will not detract you from choosing Radisson Blu and hope you will choose Radisson Blu in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,682 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,557 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing