We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived in burnside for 15 years just we have needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trio - CLOSED

Trio
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: French, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Burnside's one and only fine dining restaurant offering a variety of meals sourced and cooked from local ingredients,by award winning and Rosette standard chefsCheck our reviews on Trip Advisor,Facebook and 5pm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lived in burnside for 15 years just we have needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Food is amazing chilled atmosphere just what my wife and I require after a hard week at work 5 min from home x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harr1sonbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
The TRIO Team always love positive reviews. Thank you, for taking the time to let us know how much you are enjoying our food. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Lyn Keogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food , great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have visited Trio on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed the food and great service. Just recently they have employed a new Chef, Darren and created a new menu and wow, the food is first class. Try the trio of oysters, the fillet steak, the duck, in fact you will not be disappointed with any of the dishes on offer. Just make sure you leave enough room for dessert. This is one not to be missed when you are in the area

Iain and June

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Oysters have been a big hit at Trio and our menu is always evolving. Fresh local delicious is our mantra and we are pleased you took the time to let us know we are delivering. Thank you from us all at Trio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our regular haunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

While on maternity leave I have found myself and my mother frequenting Trio at least once a week. I have found it to a be friendly, accommodating place where you can always get a chat!
The coffee is the best available in the area, but they pride themselves on their excellent food. The standard is very high. Particular favourites are the fish pie and the halloumi salad-plus they do great chunky chips.
My mother is wheat free and they always accommodate her, in fact, Scott, the Chef, makes her spelt loaves which she really enjoys and will make a wheat free cake on request.
I always have my baby with me and they are very accommodating in terms of pram, feeding etc

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trio B, Owner at Trio, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We really appreciate your comments and we know how important it is to make our customers feel welcome, as well as providing a good dinning experience. It was great to read your positive and complimentary report. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon. Lyn Keogh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mexican night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this wee jem for the second time last night, for the Mexican night. Food was fabulous, althought the prawn taco was devoid of avocado puree, this did not detract from the enjoyment of the dish. Main courses, chimmy chungu, was full of beef and full of flavour. My wife had the chicken fajita, which she couldn't finish. The salsa salad which was with both main courses was bursting with flavour. The hand cut chips were crispy on the outside and soft inside, proper home made chips - fab!! Only one criticism is I don't agree with the service charge being added to the bill, I am always happy to tip good service, but I don't like restaurants being presumptuous. Will be back soon. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank papading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No rice on Mexican night and that's just the start...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Visited with my husband last Wednesday for their Mexican night and was sorely disappointed. Told on arrival that there was no rice (!), so it would have to be chips, mains brought to our table while we were still eating starters and food generally not as described on menu. My prawn taco cup was topped with basil pesto, not avocado puree; my chimichanga contained only a few pieces of chicken and some bland sauce (no rice of course), my husband's soup was topped with basil pesto (not very Mexican,eh?!) and the chips were greasy and soggy. I had considered asking for an extra side salad instead of chips, but glad I didn't as it consisted of three tiny pieces of yellow pepper, three tiny pieces of red onion, and yet another dollop of basil pesto. As our meal came to an end, the chef popped out through the main seating area twice to smoke and dragged the stench back in with him. Yuk! Give it a miss!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank YB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodsRGood, Manager at Trio, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to our Mexican night @ Trio Gastronomique, particularly as other diners that night have given positive feedback on Trip Advisor. it was also a shame that you didn't mention your experience on the night as I am sure we could have sorted it for you. We're grateful to have your feedback and hope you will return and we will aim to provide a great (and tasty!) experience.

The Trio Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trio also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing