We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch, relaxed and friendly”

Bar Soba Byres Road
Ranked #619 of 2,472 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Thai, Bar, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A VIBRANT COLOURFUL ATMOSPHERE, FRESH FOOD FROM THE STREETS OF SOUTH-EAST ASIA, INDULGENT, CREATIVE COCKTAILS, AND THE BEST IN PIONEERING MUSIC FROM THE FRESHEST TALENT. WELCOME TO SOBA...The second Bar Soba restaurant in Glasgow, this Byres Road branch follows in the award winning footsteps of its Mitchell Lane sister. Soba is inspired by the street vendors of South East Asia and our menu touches on traditional classic street food from all over the region. Our aim is to provide the most authentic Asian street food we possibly can, to do this we source the finest ingredients and make every element for every dish from scratch in our own kitchens. We are passionate about our food and we believe that you will be too so why don't you start off with a selection of small plates to share, then grab one of our fantastic wok dishes or an authentic Thai curry then sit back and enjoy the taste of South-East Asia. We've also been creating great cocktails since 1999, always innovating to bring our guests and their tastebuds something unique!
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for a quick lunch whilst shopping in the west end.

Was not disappointed. Drinks and food were to a very high standard.

The girls were all very friendly and seemed very happy at their work.

Wouldn't hesitate to return the next time we are in Glasgow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba Byres Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Bar Soba. I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch and that the service was happy and friendly; our staff are such a big part of what we do!
We have a lunch deal available Mon-Fri from 12pm-3pm which offers all mains at £7.95 and 2 courses for £9.95, so I hope to see you in the bar again soon!

Thanks again,

Bar Soba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Bar Soba Byres Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 310 of 343 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came here a few times, always find the staff so helpful and general service cant be faulted. Great atmosphere and great food. Always a fab night and will continue to frequent this establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rejeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba Byres Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experiences at Bar Soba. I'm really glad to hear that you're a fan of what we do!
I look forward to seeing you in the bar again, soon!

Bar Soba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Busy, lively place and I was impressed by the selection of food and friendly service. Particularly liked the seafood dish. Reasonable prices - I will visit again and recommend to friends. Well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Murrayann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba Byres Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review of your experience at Bar Soba. I'm really glad to hear you find us good value for money and are impressed with our menu.
We have recently updated our menu and have added some new seafood dishes, so I look forward to seeing you in the bar again sometime soon!

Thanks again,

Bar Soba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went with a few mates, we all had an amazing time. Staff were welcoming and made sure our night went well. Atmosphere was great all round, meal was fantastic and would 100% go back again. I would recommend trying it out =).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa-marieelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba Byres Road, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi there,

I'm really glad to hear you had such a great time with us!
Thanks for taking the time to review us,

Bar Soba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

First visit to soba Byres road and won't be surprised if it closes down fairly quickly! Went for a friends birthday with a group of 9 friends. Server couldn't have cared less throughout the meal, too busy talking to friends in the bar! Had to search for other staff at times, seemingly disappearing wherever they got the chance. Starter was cold, one main meal sauce poured down a friends back and over a new coat, server regularly forgot drinks orders, wrecked friends birthday cake by leaving candles to burn and wax melted over the cake...I could go on! At the end of the night the staff weren't overly apologetic - seems that's the level of customer service they think is acceptable! Shocking service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RTS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat W, Manager at Bar Soba Byres Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi there,

the area manager for bar soba has been in contact directy with you regarding your experince in october 2012. I appologies for the poor attatude of the member of staff on the night and I hope that you try bar sob again.

Kind regards

Bar Soba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Soba Byres Road also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Bar Soba Byres Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing