We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre

The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.53*
and up
Glasgow at Night Private Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This large concert hall and exhibition center hosts pop music concerts and fashion shows.
Falkirk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a great time and we should visit these places much more often. We don't give them enough credit.

Helpful?
Thank Wilma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    97
    57
    34
    45
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

have been here a few times for concerts. parking is very good and organised. good venue and very easy to get to.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Glasgow Carbuncle”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

As a Glasgow native I should be boasting about this "World Class" venue but I have always hated it. It's a faceless, shapeless oversized industrial unit with no redeeming features at all. The location is not handy for any local pubs or restaurants, car parking is a major rip off (£6), the choice and cost of drinks inside is extortionate (that's if you can actually get served in the few bars in the shed) and the whole place always leaves me cold. The toilets are few and always overcrowded and usually overflowing!! Remember to also bring your binoculars if you are not at the front as you will need them if you are in the tiered seating and don't forget something comfy to sit on as the tortorous paastic chairs were designed for stick insects or chidlren. If you don;t want to make friends with the person sitting next to you tough luck. You'll be in each others pockets for the three hours of fun that you are there.

Herded around by a bunch of jobsworths who always seem to be there to make your exit even more difficult, such as when I was there recently in the tiered seating and the queue to get out was, as usual, enourmous. Instead of letting us exit down onto the flat seated area, saving us all time and also emptying the shed even quicker, we were told no as the tiered seating had to leave by the designated exits. Irritating in the extreme.

If you do have the misfortune to have to attend a gig here then take the train to Finnieston or park around the general Finnieston area, walk through the pedestrian flyover tunnel and make sure you are at the door before the last song our you willl be crushed in the mad rush to get onto the last train or into your car.

All in all, a big disappointment of a venue that always spoils my enjoyment when I have to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockDinosaur666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quickly in and out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

central location, good car parking and quick access on main arterial routes many other similar venues have poorer access and facilities

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tyroneretired56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

huge space here , we went to the iron brew festival here which was great but iv been here for a few things including santa land wich was out of this world

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing