We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of McMillans Emporium - CLOSED

McMillans Emporium
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First time not in down town Glasgow, this place was recommended by the Manor Park Guest house. What a nice find. It's situated in a small group of shops with a nice little deli on one side and the restaurant on the other. The food was fantastic, the service was prompt and the family who run it seemed to work well together getting our 4 dinners sorted out. The dishes we ordered where all well prepared and very tasty. and with Grolsch on tap, there was no complaints from the beer drinkers amongst us. If you find yourself in this part of Glasgow, drop in, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank On-the-Horizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

As out of towners, we were delighted to find this little restaurant. The food was of very high quality and very well prepared and presented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanzendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly staff”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Gosh the staff that served us really should chuck it and have a career change, not one word uttered, not one smile cracked, ordered coffee not asked if we wanted anything else or a top up. My colleagues couldn't quite believe the sullen faces the girls were sporting . Really puts you off, try St. Louis down the road super friendly staff and they've got it spot on

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gongsterlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good little surprise”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Group of 7 ate here on 10 Nov...Lovely homecooked food..Great value for money on pre theatre at £11.95 and kids menu £4.95 ..service pleasant not quickest...however very relaxed and we were in no rush

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
617 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We eat here occasionally - usually lunch. Always happy with the food but on Sunday we went for a full breakfast and it was excellent. Not a smidgen of grease in sight. Everything was perfectly cooked and I particularly enjoyed the fresh mushrooms. There was enough toast to sink a battleship too. Locally, most places don't start serving breakfast until 10 but McMillans opens at 9 which seems much more reasonable as we don't all lie in on Sundays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMillans Emporium also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing