We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Court Guesthouse
Ranked #24 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had to book a family room as I had nowhere else to go and all the single rooms were taken. The man on front desk was approachable and was very welcoming. My room was a family room, so I had lots of space, which was nice. The internet worked well, but not super well, meaning, it cut out often.

The room was clean and I had no problems with anything except the fact that there was no bathroom in the room and I had to walk downstairs to get to one. However, it was clean and it was never so busy that there was always a line to use it.

The bed was a little bit uncomfortable, but I've been in way worse. I didn't lose any sleep over it, so it was fine.

The location is fine, but it feels a bit far and out of the way to me. It is also located on a hill that can be incredibly steep depending from which direction you come from.

I had breakfast in the morning and it was alright, but it wasn't anything too special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    30
    13
    23
See reviews for
20
45
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pros:
- When all single rooms were full, they were flexible enough to offer a family room at discounted price for single occupancy
- WiFi in the room (but signal strength could be stronger)

Cons:
- location is a bit far from city center (15-20 min walk)
- located at the top of a hill, so anytime you get "home" you climb the hill (sometimes with luggage).
- WiFi signal could be stronger
- bed is uncomfortable
- TV screen is small. It would have been acceptable for a single budget room, but not for a family room
- no bath tub, only shower
- missing amenities - they budgeted the amount of shampoo and forgot to add soap. Of course I could ask for more, but hotels should not be that cheap to save on guests' soap
- no elevator (there are steps to climb to get to the lobby, and there are steps to get to your room)
- they asked for upfront payment upon check-in (normally hotels payment is done upon checkout)
- while staff didn't do any wrong, they did not show any warm or friendly welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked a single room but I was given a spacious double room with a bathroom -shower only*very hot and good pressure. coffee/sugar/tea/milk and kettle provided. small soap and towels. rate B AND B. Breakfast was good, and plenty to eat. (canned tomatoes were the only problem to me) The OWNER and staff WERE FRIENDLY AND nothing was too much for them to do for their guests. Even suggestions and discounts for tours. just ask!
and it was done. ( Room no 3 does not have a window! at first it worried me but I liked it as it was quiet and they lent me a small alarm clock!) as the LOCATION is perfect you could walk everywhere and felt very safe. BUS STATION (national express/Mega bus) are in the same road.! I will stay in this hotel on my next trip, the décor is dated (typical) of old hotels but the room was clean and comfortable and reasonable rate in high season. Wifi is free. 24 hour reception is so good so you and your possessions are safe. Take a walk it is interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torphins
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this guest house last minute for concert. Very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very friendly and helpful and good breakfast again very attentive staff. This place is basic but very comfy beds. Would definitely stay again and very central. Well done

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

4 of us down to Glasgow for a concert. 4 bedded room with en suite & tea/coffee making facilities. Central. On street parking. Easy to find. Great breakfast. Staff friendly, fun & helpful. Would recommend as a good B&B for Glasgow stopover/shopping trip. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailidh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I travelled just for one night stay on 25th June for an interview for the commonwealth games. The gentleman that checked me in was pleasant and helpful with all my queries and very accommodating for whatever i needed. As i was travelling alone, i felt safe knowing that their was 24 hour reception. The area itself is quiet and very close to restaurants and tesco's! Breakfast was good and the same chap gave me some interview tips and concise directions of getting around the city and for me to get back to the airport home.

I had a comfortable stay and i will be back. It was my first time to Scotland and thoroughly enjoyed it :)

The only downfall slightly was the price i paid as it is a little more than expected. However i didn't realise their was a concert on but from my overall experience here, it is worth paying for the fab customer service and you can guarantee you will be well looked after.

Room Tip: I was on ground floor, room 5. No noise and felt safe and relaxed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This guesthouse is average in its facilities and room. However, the staff are excellent in the level of customer care. The owners son was on the front desk throughout our two night stay. He was excellent with information about Glasgow and could not have been more helpfull.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#16 of 38 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
McLays Guest House
#78 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Craigpark Guest House
#19 of 38 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#17 of 38 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#10 of 38 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Court Guesthouse

Property: Hampton Court Guesthouse
Address: 230 Renfrew Street | Garnethill, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (Formerly Hampton Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampton Court Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Court Guest House is situated in the heart of the city centre. The guest house has been awarded 2 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board, With FREE WIFI Access, 24 hour reception, continental or Scottish Breakfast and open all year round. We are a Family Run Guest House here to help you make the Most of your Trip whether it be for Business, pleasure, Shopping, Sightseeing or Just to Get away from it all for the weekend. It is a traditional town house building, just a stones throw away from many of the main attractions of Glasgow. The guest house is close to all the main amenities, attractions, theatres, cinemas, pubs, clubs, Hampden Park, SECC, ABC, Glasgow Science Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Transport Museum, Kings Theatre, Royal Concert Hall also located on the same street as the Famous Glasgow School of Art and various major shopping centres. Furthermore, a great number of restaurants offering a variety of cuisines are only a short stroll away. The excellent location of the guest house ensures that there are reliable and frequent transport links to and from the Glasgow and Prestwick Airport. In addition, the Buchanan Bus Station, Queen Street Station and Central Station are all less than a mile, making this guest house an excellent choice for those on business and likewise, those visiting Glasgow in order to soak in the ambience of the city.We offer excellent, competitive prices all year round as well as a comfortable stay with friendly staff available at all times should you require any assistance.We also have Hair dryers , extra Blankets irons and pillows available for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Court Guesthouse Hotel Glasgow
Hampton Court Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing