We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest and reliable accomodation at a price that's right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Court Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Honest and reliable accomodation at a price that's right”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

With a limited budget being balanced against central location, I was able to compromise and the Hampton Court Guesthouse more than met my needs for eight great days in the splendid city of Glasgow.

New to the area, i relied heavily on my sat nav and had no problems finding the place and was greeted by Imi, the polite owner who informed me of the parking rules (need vouchers to park on the road outside £6 for 24 hours) and gave me a free map of the streets (which i discovered to be much like New York and upon further enquiries discovered New York was actually based on the of Glasgow, copuing the grid structure of the roads)

The Sauchihall Street (think I have spelt that right) is two minutes walk away where you can find shops, eateries and a relaxed mix of people. My course was about 20 minutes walk away at the millenium hotel and the full breakfast, cereal, toast and coffee or tea served by the guesthouse staff, allowed for a pleasant walk to my course.

The en suit room at £30 a night - (Bargin) suited all my needs providing a clean bed, modern sat tv, free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities. On the nights i came back to the Hampton for food, I brought with me food bought from Tesco or another food outlet, ensuring i put the rubbish in the bin, i was happy to sit watching tv in my room with sushi and a bottle of beer.

Any queries I had, Imi was able to point me in the right direction and keep me informed. His only disappointment was that I made a choice not to have a full breakfast each morning, meaning he had too much bacon and sausage ! I was watching my weight!

As a person who enjoys the comforts of home, i was happy in my room, wether it was getting back at 6.30pm or 2.00am, there was always someone on hand.

So if you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, great breakfast service and overall advice on the area not too far from the centre of Glasgow look no further than the Hampton Court Guesthouse...

I write this review from the point that for what it cost, my expectations were exceeded...

Room Tip: My room had no windows which didnt bother me, but please mention if you want a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    31
    13
    23
See reviews for
20
45
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This place is extremely value for your money.We are a family of 4 adults. The room was a little tight, but we were expecting that for the price we paid. The breakfast was great, and the host were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just Stayed at the Hampton Court Guest House with my Husband, very happy with our stay great location , great breakfast and excellent staff. When we arrived greeted by a very charming man , decor is a bit tired but that didn't really bother us the room we got was upstairs , very clean fresh and quiet at night , we came by train from central station which took us about 20 mins to find the place, The Manager was very helpful and knowledgeable about te local area and recommended a few good pubs , breakfast had a great choice and cooked to order very happy with everything we will definitely be back again would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: just ask the owner is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ainz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Me and my friend stayed for about 4 nights in this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable. The price was very cheap. The breakfast was very delicious and rich. The hotel was very good when compared to the price. The staff was cheerful and very helpful. tey helped us for every thing we needed. The owner of the hotel has changed 3 months ago. They do their business in a very careful and a professional manner. They did their best to make us happy. The staff worked as a travel agency. We did all our reservations asked them every thing about the city and the shopping facilities, we did not need to go to any travel agency. We were very happy and satisfied during our stay.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank cceylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed one night, early April. arrived by train only 20 mins walk from Queen street station, or if you prefer take a taxi. Very close to Saucieshall street and the main shopping centre.
Booked through booking.com only paid £40 for the room. The chef cooked breakfast early for us, as we had an early morning train to catch for Oban.
Excellent value for money with breakfast included, ideal for a city break, great location, will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adey987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterhead
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

stayed for five days staff were great cheap and cheerful what else do you need well maybe some more bedding found it cold through oot the night though very nice people will be back

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oman987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Do not stay here.
The staff are really dodgy and i needed to call the police in the middle of the night as one used their key to come into my room without knocking and for no reason!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
City Centre
Charing Cross Guest House
Charing Cross Guest House
#15 of 36 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
McLays Guest House
#78 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Craigpark Guest House
#17 of 36 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Number 52 Charlotte Street
#21 of 36 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
West End
Argyll Guest House
Argyll Guest House
#10 of 36 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Court Guesthouse

Property: Hampton Court Guesthouse
Address: 230 Renfrew Street | Garnethill, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (Formerly Hampton Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampton Court Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Court Guest House is situated in the heart of the city centre. The guest house has been awarded 2 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board, With FREE WIFI Access, 24 hour reception, continental or Scottish Breakfast and open all year round. We are a Family Run Guest House here to help you make the Most of your Trip whether it be for Business, pleasure, Shopping, Sightseeing or Just to Get away from it all for the weekend. It is a traditional town house building, just a stones throw away from many of the main attractions of Glasgow. The guest house is close to all the main amenities, attractions, theatres, cinemas, pubs, clubs, Hampden Park, SECC, ABC, Glasgow Science Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Transport Museum, Kings Theatre, Royal Concert Hall also located on the same street as the Famous Glasgow School of Art and various major shopping centres. Furthermore, a great number of restaurants offering a variety of cuisines are only a short stroll away. The excellent location of the guest house ensures that there are reliable and frequent transport links to and from the Glasgow and Prestwick Airport. In addition, the Buchanan Bus Station, Queen Street Station and Central Station are all less than a mile, making this guest house an excellent choice for those on business and likewise, those visiting Glasgow in order to soak in the ambience of the city.We offer excellent, competitive prices all year round as well as a comfortable stay with friendly staff available at all times should you require any assistance.We also have Hair dryers , extra Blankets irons and pillows available for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hampton Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Court Guesthouse Hotel Glasgow
Hampton Court Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing