We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, wonderful proprieters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Court Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, wonderful proprieters”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Stayed one night, early April. arrived by train only 20 mins walk from Queen street station, or if you prefer take a taxi. Very close to Saucieshall street and the main shopping centre.
Booked through booking.com only paid £40 for the room. The chef cooked breakfast early for us, as we had an early morning train to catch for Oban.
Excellent value for money with breakfast included, ideal for a city break, great location, will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adey987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    63
    31
    14
    25
See reviews for
25
47
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterhead
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

stayed for five days staff were great cheap and cheerful what else do you need well maybe some more bedding found it cold through oot the night though very nice people will be back

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oman987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Do not stay here.
The staff are really dodgy and i needed to call the police in the middle of the night as one used their key to come into my room without knocking and for no reason!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlasgowLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Bxl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Well, for someone who fancies a place without windows, it could be alright... But think about it, it never receives fresh air and you do not get any sun light... Breakfast is enough but bad quality...
We seriously do not recommend this guest house!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bxl121098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2009

The hotel was great and the staff where very helpfull and polite
It is local to all shops, bars and restuarants.
The rooms are clean and the breakfast is very substantial, sets you up for the day ahead.
This is one hotel we will be going back to, we recommend it to all.

  • Liked — Locality
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry2760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The room I was given was really awful. It was a box room with NO windows, which I found rather odd. The bedding also looked like it had been on the go for years!. There was also an pungent unpleasant smell throughout the Hotel, which was still with me when I left the next day. I complained to the staff re the condition of the room and accompanying smell and was given a bigger room on the floor above. This was moderately bettter, although cleanliness in the room remained to be a problem.

Although I appreciate this is budget accomodation, at the very least I expected it to be clean and comfortable enough to stay in for one night! Really disappointing.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliek1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

My mother and I stayed for one night on a flying theatre visit to Glasgow.

Relatively central location, we walked from Kings Theatre which was less than 5 mins walk. The Art School in on the same road too.

Main shopping centre was a 10 min walk.

However there are a lot of stairs to and in the hotel, it has about 25 steps to get into it, then stairs down to the dining room, and then dependant on floor, stairs to get to your room.

It was a very clean and tidy hotel, but basic in furnishings. The staff were available 24 hours and we found them friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was very generous even for us Vegetarians!

Would I stay again? Yes definately, it was excellent value for money. However if my Mother was with me, I may choose another hotel purely to avoid the stairs, but for me, no problem.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank eliyza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 93 in Glasgow
561 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
482 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,130 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Court Guesthouse

Property: Hampton Court Guesthouse
Address: 230 Renfrew Street | Garnethill, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland (Formerly Hampton Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hampton Court Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Court Guest House is situated in the heart of the city centre. The guest house has been awarded 2 stars by the Scottish Tourist Board, With FREE WIFI Access, 24 hour reception, continental or Scottish Breakfast and open all year round. We are a Family Run Guest House here to help you make the Most of your Trip whether it be for Business, pleasure, Shopping, Sightseeing or Just to Get away from it all for the weekend. It is a traditional town house building, just a stones throw away from many of the main attractions of Glasgow. The guest house is close to all the main amenities, attractions, theatres, cinemas, pubs, clubs, Hampden Park, SECC, ABC, Glasgow Science Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Transport Museum, Kings Theatre, Royal Concert Hall also located on the same street as the Famous Glasgow School of Art and various major shopping centres. Furthermore, a great number of restaurants offering a variety of cuisines are only a short stroll away. The excellent location of the guest house ensures that there are reliable and frequent transport links to and from the Glasgow and Prestwick Airport. In addition, the Buchanan Bus Station, Queen Street Station and Central Station are all less than a mile, making this guest house an excellent choice for those on business and likewise, those visiting Glasgow in order to soak in the ambience of the city.We offer excellent, competitive prices all year round as well as a comfortable stay with friendly staff available at all times should you require any assistance.We also have Hair dryers , extra Blankets irons and pillows available for our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Court Guesthouse Hotel Glasgow
Hampton Court Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing