We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put off by the outside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Thomson Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Bungay
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

When we arrived outside I was really disappointed,however our room was huge with a big that was at least a super king. 42" tv, sofa and still enough room to have had a party.It was very clean and the en-suite again was very large,clean and modern.Breakfast was good, serve yourself buffet but plenty of choice and all piping hot, Yes some areas are tired and in need of updating but hotel is in a good position near central Station and good value for money I disagree with some of the earlier comments we slept very well and the bed was comfortable,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BungayBettyboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    641
    451
    190
    168
See reviews for
201
680
161
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
British living in Oman
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent 2 nights in 2 rooms at the Alexander Thompson Hotel. It is very cent falling located, 100 m from the Central Station on Argyle Street. Below the hotel is a noisy pub that has a singer on a Thursday night. One room was on the third floor with a huge bay window, double bed and sofa above this bar. The noise did impact on the sleep quality. The bathrooms in both rooms were high spec with rain shower heads.
The second room was quieter, with a double and single bed. They were helpful when the phone didn't work, replacing it. There was a large lounger and area where breakfast was served in the morning on the first floor. The hotel was expensive, but perhaps the price reflected that we were there for the commonwealth games. The reason I have given the hotel an average score is that I don't think it offered value for money at that price (over £1000 for 2 nights for 2 rooms). I thing after paying that money, I was expecting something more upmarket, with a mini bar, air conditioning, safe and gym etc. I suppose it is a typical city centre hotel in an old building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook Argyle street and one that is not directly above the noisy pub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorkeller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good hotel, great location although we had a leak from ceiling at 11pm they gave us a new room immediately. Breakfast was nice great value for money. They only downside the hotel has loud noise coming from outside not really thier fault but could do with new widows to help cut down on noise but i would stay thier again without doubt.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrtsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked this for two nights to go to the Commonwealth Games. We paid over £400 for rooms that normally charge £90 per night.
It is a short walk to both the rail and tube stations, that was why we used it. The hotel has tried to upgrade but on a tight budget so very basic and a bit grubby.
However the room although basic it had two double beds, large flat screen tv and with bottled water, biscuits and also tea and coffee.
Breakfast had a choice from cereal, fruit or cooked. Tined fruit, fudge yoghurt and over cooked food but better than nothing.
A few doors down you find a Weatherspoons which is cheap and good value.
Not recommended.

Room Tip: Less noise at higher level, although lift extremely slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I was booked for 2 days but one was enough ! As it was during the Commonwealth games, prices had been increased understandably. But £197 for 2 nights seemed very poor value. It's located in a neglected part of town but minutes walk into city centre. It was dismal and dingy, the bed was the most uncomfortable I had slept in. Breakfast was abundant with a lot of choice. I stayed there before and I felt for the price it was fine. What a pity as it has lots of potential.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

we stayed here last year but still remember how bad was the experience. first there is no parking at the hotel. once we checked in we had to wait more than 30min on the hallway because the door key wasn't working. they couldn't send someone because they were short of staff. rooms were very big and not as cool as you see in the pictures. the lift is extra slow.. it will take forever to get there. breakfast is plenty. unfortunately i didn't see any good sides to this place except the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyroshan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We also stayed at this hotel during the commonwealth games as it was the only one I could find with rooms available and now I know why!!. As mentioned in previous reviews the entrance and lobby are very tiny and although the outside of the hotel has promise the inside certainly doesn't.
It is very old fashioned and needs alot of tlc. The lift was small and so slow that it was easier for us to climb the four floors to our room each day. Our room was very small in fact the bathroom seemed bigger. It was very dark and the view of old buildings and rubbish from the window just about finished us off!!!. The breakfast room was pleasant enough and the staff very polite. It was self service and there seemed plenty of it but it was very cheap ingredients. The plus side for this hotel is that we found all the staff friendly and polite and the location is great for the central station and getting around Glasgow. We paid ALOT of money for this hotel as we wanted to see the commonwealth games and I only hope that the extra money they made at this time gets ploughed back into making this a better hotel. At the moment though if I return to Glasgow I would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 438JoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing