We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Discovered this hotel on a website and couldn't believe we hadn't seen it before. Handy location for everywhere - close to rail station and very much in walking distance to everywhere in the centre. Room was in what appeared to be a new/renovated part of the hotel and was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was superb - set us up for the day. we will be staying there agian on our next trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynCarsphairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,196 - 1,202 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've used this hotel before when visiting Glasgow as its ideally situated for Glasgow Central station and only a short walk from the centre of Glasgow.By booking in advance,its possible to get very reasonable rates for a hotel so conveniently located.We actually stayed there twice this year,at the start and end of our time in Scotland,and found both stays comfortable.The staff have always been friendly and helpful and there is a very good choice for breakfast which is self service buffet style.For a city centre hotel,this is a very good value for money establishment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULNO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My eldest daughter and I stayed here while visiting Glasgow to go to a Robbie concert at Hampden Park. We found the hotel to be very convenient for the train station, and the town amenities. Although the street the hotel is on appears rundown due to many properties up for let the hotel itself is clean and refurbished to a lovely standard on the breakfast floor. The members of staff were all very helpful and we defiantly recommend it for convenience, cleanliness, and great value for money

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The room wasn't the greatest but the staff were nice. Great location apart from having to go through a dark underpass. We stayed to see a concert at the SECC which we walked to but we caught the train back easily enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazHugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Room recently refurbed but not fully finished ,carpet in hall all ripped , no signs telling you how to get in or out of the forth floor ? No fire escape signs , breakfast pretty bad , service not too good , they take payment before you even see the room ? Don't think I'll be back . 3* no way !!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTailend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The area this hotel was in looked dodgy [near the central train station], and the hotel looked dodgy upon arrival. Not helped by a tiny, rickety lift with gum stuck on the floor; nor the shabby looking corridors. I was expecting the worst, but when I got into the room I was surprised. It was large - had a sofa as well as a double bed - nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Good bathroom too. Good breakfast the next morning.
Spent a comfortable night at a very good rate

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This refurbished hotel has a lot of character! The lobby is dark and cramped, the elevator very slow. However, the upstairs dining room and lounge area were opulent...with high ceilings, large leather sofas and chairs, huge flat screen TV and very tasteful decorating. The breakfast buffet was extensive, but the food was of very poor quality. Our room was not ready when we arrived, but we were early, so invited to wait in the lounge. The room could have been much cleaner, but perhaps they were rushing so we wouldn't have to wait long. The hotel says it doesn't have any luggage racks; they're needed, as there's no place to put luggage but on the bed. The bed was very comfortable.The chap at the reception desk was very helpful: recommended Picallo Mondo Italian Restaurant (outstanding!!) next door. Also told us where to catch the airport shuttle bus nearby, thus saving us the cost of a taxi. The hotel is well located for the train station and the Hop On, Hop Off Bus stops just across the street. This hotel is very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front, overlooking Argyle St have traffic noise until shortly after midnight; the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
862 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,261 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#34 of 93 in Glasgow
3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $55 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing