We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$220
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$319
$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$284
$237
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$246
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$252
$210
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
$277
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$289
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Central Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$176
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$263
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,007)
Filter reviews
2,007 results
Traveler rating
324
739
531
225
188
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
739
531
225
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral stationluggage roombottled waterbuffet stylecity centreiron and ironing boardfifth floorbreakfast was includedtea and coffeeflat screen tvcooked breakfastself servicebreakfast roomroom was largewould stay againmain shoppingyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,330 - 1,335 of 2,007 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel quite a few times now and really like it. It is close to the City Centre and to the Central Station. It is warm and very friendly and the staff are very friendly and polite. There is a very cosy welcoming bar and the breakfast is great.
We would definitely recommend it to others and will certainly use it each time we go to Glasgow.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean with a tea tray and biscuits with bottels of water provided.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been good. We have never been disturbed by noise.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gondary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We were in Glasgow for a night whilst on holiday in Scotland and chose the Alexander Thomson, mainly because of it's close proximity to Central station.

Arrived early evening to check in, the receptionist was friendly enough however she could find no record of our booking. After several minutes of phone calls, checking the system she eventually found out that our room had already been checked in with other guests! Apparently there had been a mix up, so we had to be sourced another room. Luckily another triple was available, we were given the key and proceeded upstairs to drop our bags. The building itself is quite nice and grand however when walking through the corridor on route to the room, there was a strong taste of stale smoke which wasn't pleasant.

The room itself was of a good standard, good sized bathroom and widescreen TV. The bathroom featured a bath with shower, again this proved to be good but the temperature did take a while to get right.

Quite handily there is a Wetherspoons pub just up the road, where you can grab a drink and food if you don't fancy wondering into Glasgow City Centre. In addition a Tesco Metro is a 2 minute walk in the opposite direction, which proved useful to pick up supplies. Returned later that evening and had a good night sleep, given the central location I didn't hear any road noise at all.

Went down to breakfast the following menu, which consisted of a mix between continental/full cooked as a serve yourself buffet. It was busy, but we had no problem with finding seat or getting food.

If you are just after somewhere to stay in Glasgow for a night, then go for it but any longer and you may want to spend a little extra to find something a bit better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonB125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Seems to be a case of making sure that you book into the refurbished rooms, judging by previous reviews. I didn't know but was put in one anyway. Could smell the new carpet, so it must have been done recently. For the price, it was a huge room with comfortable bed, very warm and cosy, with a large modern bathroom and an amazing rainfall shower. Location is excellent. Staff were pleasant throughout, strong free wifi was a bonus and breakfast was great, albeit not actually fully available by 7 as stated - it came out in dribs and drabs which is annoying if you're in a rush. Bar and lounge area is a beautiful throwback to Victorian times, and the beer is cheap! Only downside was the road noise from the vast Victorian windows - goodness knows how much the curtains must have cost as they were huge, but they couldn't keep out the noise so sleep was difficult. All in all though, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Seriously awful hotel stay away! I had called the hotel in advance to ask if luggage could be left safely and was assured I could. When we got there the luggage rooms door didn't even close never mind lock! Anyone can wander in and get access to luggage! The receptionist was incredibly rude. The hotel should really take down the sign offering a warm welcome - a blatant lie! We would've got a warmer welcome from Basil Fawlty! The receptionist didn't even acknowledge us and we just felt like such a hassle to her, having such a cheek wanting to check into the hotel! She even slammed our room cards on the desk. At this point I wanted to leave and find somewhere else but we were only staying for one night and had a busy day planned. The lift was very rickety and slow. We only used it once. The corridor smelled of damp and cigarette smoke. The room was very shabby with stains on the walls. I know it's fairly cheap but I expect at least basic hygiene. The bed thankfully was fresh and the bathroom was clean. The carpet was threadbare. The only decent part was the breakfast in the morning which we almost didn't go for given the state of everything else. The same receptionist was on the desk when we left and actually said thank you as we left! I thought I was hearing things! All in all an awful hotel would never return. If we had been planning on staying more than one night I would have found somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milkybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Area-General-Manager, General Manager at Alexander Thomson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please accept our apologies at the onset for falling below your expectations. We strive hard to maintain and keep up our Hotel and service standards but we do fall short sometimes in our efforts. I would also like to thank you for getting to light our shortcomings, this enables us to ensure that these mistakes are rectified and we offer a better service to our esteemed Guests.

We have also received your mail directly at the Hotel regarding your stay. I have however not found these observations in that mail. In that mail you have mentioned that you had requested a executive Room and had been given a standard Room. I can however confirm that you had initially you booked a triple Room on the 20/10/2012 and then changed it to Twin Room on a later date. No where on the website that you booked it says that the twin Room is an executive Room. I will investigate the reason for confusion and put in place systems to avoid repeating the same in the future.

Please feel free to write to me on the Hotels e mail ID for any further assistance needed now or in the future and I will make sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible.

Kind regards,

A P SINGH
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff were all very nice especially the lady at reception on the night of our arrival the rooms were very clean and it was a very pleasant stay. I would definitely stay here again as it was in an excellent location for shopping and only a stones throw from Buchanan galleries.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsemad1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews