We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here last night with friends as we were on a hen party. great location right in the centre of town and a two minute walk from Glasgow Central train station, rooms excellent and great value for money. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,240 - 1,246 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

My friend booked this hotel, but said not to expect too much as it had mixed reviews. She needn't have worried. The room was booked as at twin but actually had a double & single bed, with a small couch, the bathroom was quite spacious and everything was very clean, including the linen. We were on the second floor at the front of the building overlooking argyle street, there was some noise as bars were emptying but not enough to disturb us, we could hear people talking next door but again not annoyingly so. The hotel was handy for shopping, railway station, bars & food, and staff are happy to order cabs to take you farther afield. Ok the outlook from our window was not attractive (a boarded up building) but you don't look at the view when your sleeping. Breakfast was an all you can eat buffet, with staff making sure food was topped up before it ran out at all times, toaster was a bit slow but so what. On the whole, for less than £50 for two people B & B, this hotel proved to be a good city centre base that I would book again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have stayed here many times in the past, and my stay this time was as good as ever. Affordable comfortable accommodation, fantastic buffet breakfast, friendly, knowledgeable staff, all for £35 per nigh for 2 people, in a city centre location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was worried about what i'd get as the room was so cheap but i couldn't be more impressed. The bathroom was quite out-dated but apart from that everything was brilliant. It was really clean, the room and rest of hotel were nicely decorated and the breakfast was excellent. The location was great, really close to the shops and staff were friendly. I would definitely recommend the hotel and wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed for 3nights excellent rooms.breakfast very good.Reception staff could have been more professional.also bar staff needed some training asked for a coffee and was told no hot drinks served in bar.Its not to hard to boil a kettle.Most of staff from eastern europe and were not trained properly didnt seem to care about guests. last comment would stay again you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: ask for fifth floor at front seem to be good rooms at time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seamus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here on new years eve so were only really looking for somewhere to crash but it far met our expectations. Close to the train station and the club we were going to so it was fab! Room was good with a nice bathroom and a double bed single bed and a couch which we made use of!
Great sleep had by all

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KcMc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ideal location just a few steps from Central Station, huge modern room with tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv and 2 sofas. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had complimentary toiletries and breakfast in the morning was good quality and plentiful. All in a great hotel and we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saoirsechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Argyle Street) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
1,178 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $61 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing