We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow, November 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow, November 2011”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Decent sized room with ensuite. Reasonably priced, but could have been cleaner. The staff were friendly enough but could have been a bit more helpful. Good location as shops are very near, as well as train and bus stations. Good hotel for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    670
    475
    205
    171
See reviews for
212
721
170
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, Scot,and
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here last Saturday night as myself and my husband were going to see Kevin Bridges at the SECC and this hotel is so convenient for the city centre and very reasonably priced. I was pleasantly surprised when we checked in as the room we were allocated, 321, appeared to have been recently renovated, clean, bright and modern with huge windows looking onto Argyll Street. One thing we did notice was a seemingly redundant door with no handle, but we didn't think too much about this. We returned around 1am and settled down to sleep. Around 3am we were awoken by the residents of the room next door returning. It became obvious that the door we had noticed connected to their room, and there was absolutely no sound insulation between the two rooms. It was a group of young Irish guys, who had obviously had a very good night out, and who wanted to chat about their exploits. They weren't particularly shouting, but we could hear every word of their conversation. They eventually went to sleep, until about 7am when one of them got up to be sick and decided to share details of his hangover with his friends, so that was everybody up.
It seems a bit of an oversight to renovate the rooms but not to properly block up old doors and ensure peace and quiet for guests who want to sleep. I have stayed here before, so know that lots of people who stay here are in the city for a night out and expect a wee bit of noise, but this was literally as if they were in the room with us.
On a positive note breakfast is great, with loads of choice and good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CacaMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Room clean but bathroom door did not have a handle or a lock. Convienent for shops. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel with decent buffet breakfast. Good value for money. an excellent city centre location. Staff are always friendly. Would stay again. Good for a one night stay in glasgow.

Only one issue. some rooms on the first floor have windows that dont lock and there is a roof. Nothing happened but for peace of mind would be better if the window locked.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llollipoppi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

2 minute walk from the city centre, train station and an NCP carpark. Room was spotless and the staff friendly. If all you want is a bed in a nice clean room without spending a fortune this hotel is for you

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DT_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while we went to a show. Check in very quick (here's your key give us your money) Room ok 203 facing busy road, but used to it. Bed clean enough, very thick duvet too hot for us. Turned heating of, still hot. Breakfast very good apart from cheap sausages.
Toilet not the cleanest, only place i've been where you have to step up to sit on the loo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anotherpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I come to Glasgow frequently,and always stay at the Alexander Thomson hotel,staff are
always nice, polite,helpful,I stayed there this week,and Emma a new member of staff on the
reception,was very nice check in was efficient,she was helpful,I needed a taxi,and it was
booked to arrive at the time requested,the rooms are nice,adequate space,nice and warm
in the winter months,so its always a comfortable stay,hence the reason,I always come back,
rooms are very clean,breakfast,has lots of choice,really theres just nothing to complain about,
I would highlt recommend it for a nice stay.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a nice place to stay, then look no further than the Alexander Thomson hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,374 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Thomson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Thomson Hotel

Property: Alexander Thomson Hotel
Address: 320 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8LY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander Thomson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Alexander Thomson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Thomson Glasgow
Hotel Alexander Thomson
Alexander Thomson Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing