We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The haggis was the best I've ever had”
Review of The Arches

The Arches
Ranked #94 of 280 things to do in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Europe's leading cultural venues, the Arches is both an arts receiving and production house with an international reputation as an exciting hub of ground-breaking creativity. Housed within seven Grade A listed Victorian railway arches in Glasgow city centre, the venue presents a year-round programme of theatre, performance, dance, visual art, live music, club nights and creative learning.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The haggis was the best I've ever had”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Apart from a minor blip with the booking, which incidentally was dealt with very professionally, the food and staff were excellent. I would def recommend eating here and can't wait to go back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    6
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilminster
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ideal cafe bar and music venue”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Right by Central Station, offers wonderful food at reasonable prices with a good choice of fresh ingredients. Wide range of music throughout the year. Access to bar cafe is by steep stairs. didn't notice whether or not there is a lift.
Ideal meeting place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BakersLoafing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food let down by slow service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Went with friends for a deal via 5pm, 3 courses and a glass of wine for £12, a great price so wasn't expecting haute cuisine however the food was very good. Starters of veg tempura were a little small, 4 pieces, however for the price completely reasonable. My main of pig cheeks was delicious as was the fish my friend had. My other pal, being a true vegetarian was a little miffed there was only one veggie dish however they kindly agreed to swap it for the veggie haggis on the a la carte as it was the same price. Upon ordering deserts we were told they had run out of two and had only one portion of brownie left leaving the only option the jelly (no good for veggies) and the cheese plate, so we had the brownie and 2 cheese plates. Good selection of cheese, nice oatcakes and chutney etc. However all in all we were very happy with the food, the only problem was the slowness in which dishes came out. Seated for 6.30 we must have had our starters an hour later, our mains about 8.15 and desert just before 9. Thankfully we were not in a hurry so could wait. The staff were friendly but hard to attract when we needed more wine, more oatcakes etc. I would definitely go back but not if I was in a hurry.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank msintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had many a great night here. Great location, the building has cool interior and has many diverse shows, ranging from music, arts, theatre, clubs nights etc etc

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“BTTF presents GBX NYE”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Amazing place... had loads of great nights and usually go to a lot of the Colours nights... the bove 1 on NYE was 1 of the best... staff are grt and the stewards are always on hand if needed

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arches also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing