We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family-run restaurant”
Review of Don Costanzo

Don Costanzo
Ranked #309 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Don Costanzo is an Italian Restaurant located in the basement of 13 Woodside Crescent, Glasgow G3. Formerly the location of Nick Nairn's restaurant, it has been transformed into a warm, homely welcoming restaurant where you can enjoy the best of authentic, home cooked Italian cuisine. Don Costanzo was opened after the closure of The Caprese in Buchanan Street, a long established restaurant of 26 years, owned and run by Costanzo Cacace and his family. Costanzo gained the reputation of offering the best of the best to the best of the best. Clientèle from across the globe, famous and not so famous, enjoyed what Costanzo offered in the Caprese - fantastic food in a great atmosphere - and those people have returned to Don Costanzo for more of the same. Using only the best ingredients and produce, and with an impressive wine list to suit every taste, a trip to Costanzo's will not disappoint. Easily reached from both the city centre and west end with plentiful street parking and good transport links.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great family-run restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely food, very friendly and attentive staff. We went there on the night of the England v Scotland game, so it wasn't busy.
You're not likely to stumble over this restaurant but it's only slightly off the beaten track - if you're going west along Sauchiehall Street, it's just past the motorway you cross over, on your right. Well worth the extra 5 minutes' walk.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    17
    8
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real Italian food- feels like Italy”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Food is simple- just like Italian food should be, when you try to make sophisticated Italian food - it just doesn't work. This restaurant is based on best ingredients, prepared proffecionaly, -so what can go wrong? Add to this a very welcoming staff, a listening chef, and you will enjoy a very good meal

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite place”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I are regular vistors to this genuine Italian restaurant - our favourite in Glasgow.. Family run with Don Costanzo himself very much in evidence!- proper Italian food - music - ambience all perfect.
Being slightly off the main thoroughfare (having previously been located in the city centre) it attracts genuine diners.
There is a high loyalty following in that most folk having been once will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Still fabulous despite change of location.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was visiting Scotland and wanted to seek out a favourite restaurant that I had not visited for a number of years. Don Costanzo's, formerly Caprese Restaurant in Buchanan St Glasgow, has re-located to Woodside Crescent and has been re-named Don Costanzo's in recognition of its inimitable and rambunctious owner and host.
To eat here is about more than just food, it is a total enjoyable experience. Costanzo is a superb host and with his daughter Ilia provides excellent and 'entertaining' service.
The food is European but specialising in Italian dishes. Try the mouthwatering veal T-bone and the fish is always fresh, superbly cooked and presented with style.
I was delighted to discover that Don Costanzo's is back in a great new location and offers a wonderful taste of Italy in the heart of Glasgow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank epicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“How Italian food should be”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We use this restaurant regularly for business and would come here personally if I lived in Glasgow. Costanzo is a great host and the food is always excellent. I like the real family feel of the place. Its not what I would describe as fine dining - its simply great Italian food. They used to be on Buchanan street and the new place is more upmarket but hasn't lost any of its charm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Costanzo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Don Costanzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing