We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wee restaurant!”
Review of Don Costanzo

Don Costanzo
Ranked #263 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Don Costanzo is an Italian Restaurant located in the basement of 13 Woodside Crescent, Glasgow G3. Formerly the location of Nick Nairn's restaurant, it has been transformed into a warm, homely welcoming restaurant where you can enjoy the best of authentic, home cooked Italian cuisine. Don Costanzo was opened after the closure of The Caprese in Buchanan Street, a long established restaurant of 26 years, owned and run by Costanzo Cacace and his family. Costanzo gained the reputation of offering the best of the best to the best of the best. Clientèle from across the globe, famous and not so famous, enjoyed what Costanzo offered in the Caprese - fantastic food in a great atmosphere - and those people have returned to Don Costanzo for more of the same. Using only the best ingredients and produce, and with an impressive wine list to suit every taste, a trip to Costanzo's will not disappoint. Easily reached from both the city centre and west end with plentiful street parking and good transport links.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely wee restaurant!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I first came across this restaurant while out for a walk to the west end. Its pretty hidden, but well worth the search for!. I went in during 'Business Lunch' time, which was a set price menu of £11. I had soup of the day that was Tomato, & a Spaghetti Bolognese for main, fantastic!, I’m sure I heard/read its all home made food, & it is absolutely excellent, so compliments to the chef!. The staff were very friendly& polite to us as we arrived, during our lunch& when we were leaving, which made it even more of a nice experience!. As for looks, its pretty well decorated with photos of past guests to the restaurant & Italian themes on the walls. I would definitely come back here, & will definitely tell friends& family about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khristophoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    17
    8
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth finding this Italian restaurant.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A table of 3 on a quiet Tuesday, and initial impressions not great when the taxi driver had never heard of it, and then could not find it despite having the address.
Reason seems to be that they have rebranded and moved, and the current location has a very small sign outside that is not at all evident.
Still, the entrance is pleasant, the welcome was warm, and surroundings are very nice as well.
The chef/patron was very much in evidence and ran through daily specials and was happy to chat.
This was nice, but only possible due to the restaurant being quiet, though I do know some who would find his input throughout the night off putting. Personally, he was a character and added to the experience.
Service was prompt, efficient and with just enough warmth to add to the experience.
Food was flavoursome, and the veal chop recommended by the chef was first class. Stuffed peppers, pasta, fish were all reported as very good.
Desserts were a success and overall, it's certainly a place to visit again, and price was reasonable for the quality delivered.
I hope the accessibility issues can be solved as this place would be terrific with a full restaurant as the atmosphere would complement the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Visited in May 2013. A great menu and lots of fantastic offers of the day. The quality of the food and service is quite simply superb.
Great atmosphere, warm and friendly managment and staff in a charming setting.
If you want a wonderful evening out with authentic Italian cuisine and hospitality this small and delightful restaurant is the place to visit. We had three exquisite courses each and swapped plates half way through each course as everything was so irresistably fresh and delicious. Excellent value for money as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Visited here in April 2013. The food was excellent with a large amount of daily specials on offer. All food was cooked fresh and came out pipping hot. The truffels for desert were especially good. The service was also excellent and the price very reasonable. Would definetly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EMcCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Delicious food...well worth a visit.”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had booked Don Costanzo based on tripadvisor reviews. Despite living in Glasgow it was not one I had heard of, however, I was not disappointed. It was a little difficult to find and the I wasn't convinced when we went in as it is a little quirky inside. The service was fairly slow but as we weren't in a rush so it wasn't a problem. It was very busy and the staff were rushing around but the food was well worth the wait...absolutely delicious. If I had a criticism, and this is maybe just a personal pet hate, but the waitress was chewing gum - apart from that everyone was helpful and pleasant and I definitely will be returning. I would recommend booking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pumpkinmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Costanzo also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Don Costanzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing