We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“widespread selection, good food”

Punjabi Charing Cross
Ranked #78 of 2,393 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set in the heart of Glasgow, Punjabi Charing Cross offers a dining experience unique to all. Whether it is for an intimate meal, to take the family out or even to enjoy a curry with a group of friends, our restaurant will provide a unique experience. Why not start your meal with our unique starters which range from delicious keema padora to our much heralded lamb chops or even our freshly cooked fish pakora. Our curries are cooked the punjabi way and retain a unique depth of flavour. Why not try our traditional lamb on the bone or even the chicken equivalent. Other curries such as our lamb chilli ginger and our punjabi garlic chilli provide a unique twist to the classic curry everyone loves. No description of the Punjabi would be complete without mentioning our newest creation:the lamb Gurmeet.With such depth of choice one visit is simply not enough.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“widespread selection, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

we spent a dinner here, and was positive about the place. good service, and a wide selection from the menu.

the food was also excellent, despite of indian is not my favourite type of food.

if you like indian you will not be disappointed here. price level is also good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laszlo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    90
    25
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We love this restaurant, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly. It serves the best Indian food in Glasgow, as far as we're concerned... We recommend the Punjabi to everyone without hesitation. It deserves to be full every day! We eat here almost every week and are never disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank witchchickGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely little curry house nice staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went here Sat 13/07 for 1st time on a Living Social Deal ( 2 x courses each & bottle of wine £25 ).. Impressions as follows. AMBIENCE - Very nice intimate feel of a pub - tastefully decorated.. quite empty for a Sat Night, not sure if this is usual as location is a bit off the beaten track or just due to the hot weather.. STAFF - Very attentive & friendly but not overly which was great.. FOOD - had mixed / fish pakora to start & chicken diopaza as main - portions more than enough & nice bottle of dry white.. PRICE - Very fair on the deal & left a tip as felt the above points merited it... Would have given it 5 stars but want to return (Sunday 2 course & bottle deal looks tempting) to try again with a fuller atmosphere 1st.. id recommend it to others.. Thanks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MICKGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Meal & Great Friendly Staff at Punjabi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are never disappointed each time we have a meal at the Punjabi restaurant on North Street Charing Cross Glasgow. Top indian food, friendly staff and nice place. We eat here most Fridays after work, and we are always made welcome by Ram, Harry and and especially Kevin. We mostly go for the 'meal deal' with a bottle of wine included, great value and we always feel full to the brim by the end of the meal. We would really recommend this place for lunch or dinner anytime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlin3011_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lamb Gurmeet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This has become a Glasgow favourite in the two years since it opened. Hari, Mein Host, and Chef Gurmeet can create anthying one describes...Ths Lamb Gurmeet is outstanding...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hector-Curry-Heute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjabi Charing Cross also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Punjabi Charing Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing