We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“viva la brazil glasgow”
Review of Viva Brazil

Viva Brazil
Ranked #133 of 2,429 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $31
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Authentic Brazilian steakhouse, offering unlimited supply of fifteen different cuts of BBQ meat served at the table
glasgow
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“viva la brazil glasgow”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

went to viva la brasil at the start of dec, had booked a table a couple of weeks in advance, it was busy as you would expect at christmas, but when I got there is become obvious they had no booking for us, we had to wait over an hour for our table, and the young staff did not appear to know what was going on, as they argued in front of customers. Fifteen different types of meat, I think not, try about 5, although the food its self was very tasty and in good supply. Drinks were a bit pricey and service at the bar diabolical. a great idea for a restaurant but clearly badly run, I was also angry that we were charged for the 'Full Rodizio and seafood', there was no seafood on offer at all!!! desserts were very cheap, nothing special, on three options, and my friends dessert was frozen! the girl at front of house did get us two bottles of free wine, as we waited for so long. However when my husband went there for his works christmas do it was the same idea they waited ages for their booked table, small choice of meats no seafood available. Its a shame as the food that was available was good, but unless you like lots of meat, this is not the place for you. Not sure if will go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ak013271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    438
    201
    121
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A tasty find!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved the traditional Brazilian BBQ concept. Different from anything else I've experienced here. Set price and all you can eat - particularly good for big appetites but really worth it for the experience. Good wine list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThisTeacherTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“if you only care about having loads of meat, its fine”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ive been here twice now, with partner and with a friend and her partner too. Both times, service has been shocking, wait a long time to be served drinks, the first time we were greeted by a very rude women, who didnt even explain to us what the deal with the restaurant was,m we then waited a good 20 mins before anyone even came near to ask if we wanted a drink.

secondly we booked to come here for hogmany, but get to the restaurant to find they didnt have a reservation for me, despite paying £40 deposit over the telephone when booking. We were stood at the bar for a while, and it was actually implied at first like we werent going to get a table, the place was EMPTY! after a while the manager found our reservation had been made for a different date, no apology or anything.

I doubt i will be back, but if you dont really care about service and want alot of good meat, then its very good for that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still good but missing something”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Having been several times befor,my partner and I thought this would be the perfect way to finish off a Christmasy day in town. We were given a 'Complimentary' cocktail which it later transpired we had paid for in the increased lunch price. While the fodd was as tasty as always the selection was not as good -garlic bread instead of steak with cheese through, doesn't add up to me. That said what we did have was lovely and the salad bar was superb. I do agree with previous post that the efforts of the restraint to inform customers was quite poor. Nowhere on the website or throughout the booking process (including the confirmation email and text) mentioned it and we only found out when a dessert was practically forced on us 'because we'd be paying for it anyway'. In short great food but not the best claity.

Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“That was a good food!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went on a Sunday dinner. for £19.50, you get the salad bar (which is quite abundant by itself) and then infite amounts of meat! Pleasently surprised!
Only disappointed by waiting time for drinks and the desserts - three options, and nothing special!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CesareCamestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Brazil also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Viva Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing