We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A novel idea and well-realised!”
Review of Pesto Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Pesto Italian Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Joint winner of People's Choice Award, Scottish Italian Awards 2013. Finalist for Most Romantic Restaurant and Best Wine List.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A novel idea and well-realised!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Pesto is a great idea - rather than a large bowl of pasta or risotto, you order several small dishes and combine the flavours - great to share, as we did, with friends, and plenty of good veggie options, including deep-fried polenta! Can't understand why more places don't do it! The décor and ambience were really good and the service was first-rate!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    140
    43
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“another lovely meal!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was the fourth time we have eaten here and again loved it. The waitress was helpful, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The food is always good and we would especially recommend the stuffed chicken thighs with sage and Parma ham and also the raspberry Bellini. We have eaten in a lot of restaurants in glasgow but pesto is always our favourite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buggle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great idea, Italian tapas!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate in Pesto on our stay in Glasgow on 27 September. I have not seen this concept in an Italian restaurant before where you can order 3 mini portions off the menu for £7.95. We had a garlic bread to start but for the main I had polenta, tagliatelle in a creamy mushroom sauce and a 5 inch margherita pizza. Very tasty. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The restaurant itself was really nicely set out, nice decor, high ceilings and a really classy feel about it. We didn't have dessert but that was only because we couldn't fit one in. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great meal, great service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Visited Pesto for lunch on Saturday. Have been once before and really enjoyed it, so we decided to give it another go.
I have to say my only negative about it is the fact there is no lunch menu on a saturday - so it can work out quite expensive - but it is worth it.
We chose a variety of tapas dishes - 6 between two of us - and really couldnt finish it all - a bit too much for a lunch. but all choices were excellent. I cant remember all of them but they included gnocchi with parmesan, Patata origano, king prawns in white wine, onion garlic and pepper (spicy!), and chicken thighs stuffed with parma ham. All were excellent.
What made it even better was the service. Very friendly, helpful, and with staff obviously on the ball. I know it is part of a chain but it is very good quality. Will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delighted once again”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was there with my husband after a long busy working day and needed a friendly and relaxing place to have something to eat. Pesto was the right choice. The food was quickly served and nicely presented more than anything the staff made it really pleasant. The food was great, the atmosphere and surrounding were fantastic. We deeply enjoyed and looking forward to another visit. Thanks again

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FAITHGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much Faith for your lovely review of Pesto and so glad to see you enjoyed your repeat experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesto Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing