We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, three star plus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cumbernauld Road, Glasgow G33 6HW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, three star plus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed the last two nights on a business trip. The hotel restaurant was good value and the staff were friendly and provided considerate service. I would use this hotel again for business or pleasure. niely located just outside Glagow but good access to main roads.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottkjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I happened to stay at this hotel at the last minute. What a great find. Although situated in an area with few facilities,this hotel made sure my stay was one of the nicest I have experienced.

Bedroom large and very comfortable. I stayed in room 3. This is situated at the front of the hotel over the main entrance,but not a jot of noise. TV could have been a bit bigger to make it easier to watch in bed.

Hotel restaurant was modern and airy.Good menu at proper prices.

All staff very pleasant and helpfull

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Overall the place was fine. The room was fairly spacious and staff lovely. Only problem I felt, which kind of ruined my experience was the fact the floor boards are so creaky (like really badly) and the walls are the thin fibro so you can hear pretty much everything.
For instance the person above our room decided to pack their back at 11.30pm on a monday night so we hear the zipping of opening and shutting of their bags, the stomping as they walked from one end of the room (including creaky floorboards) to the other and the fact the TV was on too.
Do yourself a favour and bring ear plugs or else you are at the mercy of others timetables.

Also, there are a heap of wedding held here on weekends, so be prepared for the noise and crowds in reception.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outandaround33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnabow, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We rented two rooms in this lovely hotel on the outskirts of Glasgow. Our rooms were large, well decorated and very comfortable. The hotel staff were all exceptional even while large weddings were going on during the days we stayed. The hotel is within walking distance of the train stop at Steeps. The train trip into Glasgow took just a few minutes. The hotel's restaurant is excellent and moderately priced. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner there on several occasions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff was super, very cordial and went out of their way to help us get settled and oriented after arriving from the US in the early morning. Enjoyed a very good dinner in the restaurant, our room was clean, updated and very reasonably priced. This is far better than any Best Western I have seen in the US. Far enough outside of Glasgow to avoid mid-town prices, but close enough to get into Glasgow very easily.

Note - This location is very popular with the local weddings on the weekends and so it is imperative to avoid getting a room above the event room, unless you want to listen to DJ wedding music through the night.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the event room if there is a wedding reception there during your stay. The muffle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our wedding was at the Garfield House Hotel on 31st August and I cannot recommend this hotel enough, we had an absolutely fantastic day. All of the staff were extremely helpful and worked so hard to make sure everything about our day was perfect, especially John Kelly. From every meeting with John, he made us feel completely at ease and nothing was too much trouble for him. On the day, John was brilliant from making sure me and Garry were OK before the ceremony to ensuring everything ran like clockwork. A lot of our guests stayed at the hotel on the night of the wedding and everyone we have spoken to has complimented the rooms, saying how nicely decorated they were. On the day, everything ran smoothly and all the staff were wonderful throughout the whole day (I cannot compliment them enough). The food was excellent and well presented, all of our guests have mentioned how nice the meal was. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone whether you are looking for somewhere to stay or thinking of having your wedding here. A huge thank you to all the staff and especially John for making our day so special :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_S_310812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked a double room at this hotel to celebrate a special weekend with my partner.

We arrived to the mayhem of a weeding taking place. We got into the hotel and checked into our room (number 23). As we started to unpack our stuff, I started noticing problems with the room. The lamp shades and unit surfaces were covered in dust and there were holes in the bed sheets. I complained at the reception desk and the duty manager came with me to inspect the room. He told me he would get these issues sorted or move us to another room. Once the duty manager had left, I went to open the window in order to ventilate the room and get rid of some of the dust in the air. To my horror I noticed MOULD growing on the window. This is a major health hazard as I have asthma and exposure to mould spores over night would have landed me in hospital. The only other room in the hotel was a twin room that was no good to us. We were therefore forced to check out and this in turn ruined our other plans and special weekend.

I understood from the mayhem outside when I arrived that there was a weeding on. This I know left the hotel with very few rooms. However the room in which we were given and the attitude of the staff gave me the impression that we had been overlooked and disregarded in favour of the weeding and all its guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liam120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#7 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#2 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#8 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 4,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 2,002 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel

Address: Cumbernauld Road, Glasgow G33 6HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garfield Hotel
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing