We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Value and quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Value and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stopped Jan 2012 for 2 nights, 10 mins easy drive by car from City Centre (several routes) and within walking distance of Stepps Railway station, Good sized rooms that are set back from the main road, Good sized car park,TV modern large screen flat TV with good freeview reception, Meals between 1730 and 1830 good value, with limited choice but can pay more and get more choice, Value breakfast, Friendly staff, (all) attentive to your questions and happy to help, Modern bright rooms that are very clean, and quiet, So I will use again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    115
    30
    10
    19
See reviews for
105
148
28
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The only reason I have not awarded the lowest possible rating is that this is a lovely hotel, having had recent refurbishment throughout. We were allocated a very nice room and all public areas are decorated to a high standard.

This is where the positives end. The only member of staff we got a smile from was one of the housekeepers in the corridor on the morning we checked out - the receptionist that checked us in was miserable, the bar staff were rude (on waiting at the bar for a drink, we were 'welcomed' by a girl who said "yes I can get you a drink but I'm still waiting on my dinner break") and the breakfast staff couldn't have cared less (walked past our dirty plates 3 or 4 times).

To top it off, when we tried to leave, we discovered our car that had been left in the hotel car park over night had had one of it's tyres slashed, along with 9 others. In hindsight, we were lucky as only one of ours had been damaged, but other cars had all 4 tyres slashed. The hotel accepted no responsibility and had no surveillance, and although the police were called, they only took everyone's details in the event of an insurance claim.

So all in all, a very expensive and below average stay. Won't be back and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

From check in to check out this hotel was excellent. The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and made for a great night. The food and rooms were of a high standard and did
Scotland proud. The Hogmanay ball was a night to remember and the build up to the bells was great. I enjoyoyed the piper at midnight and the overall entertainment was just right, There was a good mix of young and old ( no children ) and I understand this hotel does not have to advertise their Hogmanay ball due to word of mouth. Having experienced it I can understand why. One small comment - I would like to have heard "Auld Lang Syne" at the end after the fun "Bonnie Banks " routine, but all in all still a great night,

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusieMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during the hurricane in Scotland. When I arrived it had been snowing and as I stepped out the car a lovely man came out and carried my bags up to my room while I checked in. Staff were very friendly and the food is excellent.
The rooms are very clean and well decorated with a lovely bath and shower.
I stayed for 4 nights overall and it was excellent I would definitoey stay there again and recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Windypops1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed just one night in the hotel and arrived late. I checked in and the receptionist was friendly and chatty. She helped me solve my main concern which was how I could get to my meeting the next day very nearby. What she actually arranged for me was a real surprise, the General Manager himself took me over. A lovely gentleman.

My room was very comfortable, clean and the staff friendly at breakfast. The poached eggs I ordered were perfectly cooked.

Thank you so much and I am looking forward to coming back next year

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Had our Christmas party at the Garfield and I have to say what a superb night we had. A big thank you to all the staff and management for making it probably the best Christmas party we have had. The service was excellent always with a smile, the food served was warm and extremely tasty. I also stayed over and the room that we had was spacious and very clean. The next morning i went for a much needed breakfast which again had the same high standard as the night before. Speaking to all our party they all had a great time and want to book again for next year. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and so would all the staff at my company !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel while visiting glasgow for some christmas shopping..... It is ideally located ten minute drive from town centre with free parking.
Would thoroughly recommend the hotel and restaurant, nice atmosphere, very clean, and good friendly service.
Hotel has a boutique feel and is far better than 3 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopaholic17_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#8 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 4,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel
Address: Cumbernauld Road, Glasgow G33 6HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#13 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garfield Hotel
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garfield House Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing