We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best scones I've ever tasted!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brooklyn Cafe

The Brooklyn Cafe
Ranked #5 of 47 Dessert in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open since 1931, The Brooklyn Café has served its fair share of customers. With an American/Italian menu in the restaurant patrons can choose from plenty of classics from a freshly rolled pizza to full rack of babyback ribs and everything in between!Leaving with a smile on your face is a safe bet though as the homemade Ice-Cream has been a massive hit and is made daily on site. With more experience than most of the the surrounding eateries put together the Brooklyn café know how to keep everyone happy.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best scones I've ever tasted!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Amazing scones - huge, crunchy on outside, soft and moist on inside. They come toasted but I always ask for mine untasted. Great coffees. Staff arnt the friendliest but to be honest I'm too busy enjoying my scone to care!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodieglasgow1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    69
    36
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
195 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fabulous ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Knowing the cafe from previusously, I popped in here for a take away ice cream and was not disappointed. It was creamy, smooth and absolutely one of the best ice creams you could find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good grub in a pleasant little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I am very surprised by some of the negative reviews. We made our first visit to the Brooklyn yesterday and found it to be light and well furnished. The welcome and service were spot on throughout our visit. We had Chicken Milanese, which was tasty and plentiful. The price was reasonable at around £8. We will certainly return to this friendly wee local restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beans have no exchangeable value.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Much of my misspent youth was wiled away here. However a recent visit for four hangover breakfasts was not the walk down memory lane I expected. Nostalgia is not what it used to be.
We each had a breakfast, minus the specific items we did not fancy, which amounted to a fair lot (square sausage, tottie scone, beans x 2, mushrooms). One of us asked for an extra fried egg and some more toast. We were charged for these items, despite not being told this by the waitress, when we asked the manager, he told us 'beans have no exchangeable value.'
Wise up.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Matilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Having read some negative old reviews was somewhat unsure how our visit might turn out but as there had also been a balance of positive responses I made the booking. Needn,t have worried as we enjoyed a very good 3 course meal. Good choice of starters.Rib-eye steak cooked to perfection and my breast of chicken dish was so succulent Our desserts knickerbocker glory & banana split were amazing especially as we could not recall last time we,d indulged in these favourites.Pleasant greeting & seating and service was very good. Nice atmosphere.most enjoyable experience.Good value.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brooklyn Cafe also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Brooklyn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing