We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Complete Let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Nachos

Nachos
Reserve with OpenTable
Nachos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #490 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Mexican, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Complete Let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Food was ok at best. Portion sizes were meagre for the price. Waiter did not bring back change, think it is up to the customer if/how much they would like to tip! Avoid this place there is not a hint of authenticity about it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nachosglasgow N, Owner at Nachos, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review SharonT. I am surprised that you found our portions to be "meagre". In most instances we actually have to pack-up the food as the customer cannot finish it because the portions are so big. We would rather wrap it up for you and let you take it home than reduce the portions. You state that we are not authentic in any way......what exactly does that mean? Our chef is of Mexican origin, originally from San Diego and has tailored a menu using the freshest of ingredients, spices and chillies......all spices and chillies are home-roasted. Certainly here in Glasgow we don't have all the food resources that were available to the chef in the States but he does well with what he has....we have never claimed to be authentic, frankly I'm not even sure what that is. My understanding of authentic is getting what you would back home...i.e in the small Mexican villages.
You did not state when you were in or even what you had to eat. We always give change back and we certainly do know that tipping is at the customer's discretion. We do not even add service charge to parties of 6 or more. Most restaurants do so. The waiter does not recollect this but if you come in, we can address this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    70
    28
    14
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Saw an offer on Groupon and thought we would give it a go. I have to say that we all enjoyed the food. The portions were huge and of good quality. Having been to pancho villas in the city centre on numerous occasions I would have to say that nachos is better - bigger portions, better quality and better priced. Even though we got a bargain through groupon - £7.25 each for two courses we will definitely go back. Unfortunately not sure if it will be still trading as it was very quiet for a Saturday evening although in saying that so was Shawlands overall. It's not the same place it once was. If you like nice spicy mexican food give it a go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EveK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistently terrible across the board”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Picked this restaurant because of the good reviews on TA but we were really disappointed, seriously wondering if we visited the same place as the other reviewers.

The decor is tired, not really Mexican, no lights in the ladies toilets or locks on the door so the place feels neglected. Don't think anyone Mexican cooks there, or has even been to Mexico on their holidays.

Firstly the drinks, margaritas which they don't serve frozen, and tasted awful, like cough syrup, £5 a drink and couldn't even finish them.

Then the starter which was nachos, which was ok but the guacamole was awful, didn't seem fresh.

Main course was the world's smallest fajitas, the tortillas were about the size you get with Peking duck, and potato wedges which were soggy and shrivelled.

Service was poor, only one server half heartedly asked how the meal was, but when we started to tell her, she walked away without comment. Guess the kitchen didn't get the message. Weren't given any acknowledgement when paying bill, and we got out of there as quickly as possible.

I really don't like leaving such a negative review but can't think of anything positive to say unfortunately, I would avoid returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusansBackInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill
Level Contributor
235 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Good Tasty Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great portions, friendly staff, tasty food which was served very quickly what more can I say. The only drawback is where it is. It's upstairs on Skirving Street and if you blink you would miss it. I would have a board out on the street advertising the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesleyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Have been meaning to go for ages for a meal to Nachos.We had booked for 5.30pm on Sat,booking procedure on the phone perfect.Nice greeting on arrival,and shown to our table.Inside is spacious,bright,and clean.Enjoyable background music,which made a good overall atmosphere.Service was spot on time wise throughout the meal,I would expect that due to the early booking time.The food was very good,in taste and portion size.All in all a very nice meal.I would recommend.My Wife and I shall be back,when Mexican takes our fancy again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank williamson000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nachos also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Nachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing