We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food that is Really Indian”
Review of Asmaan Tandoori - CLOSED

Asmaan Tandoori
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A versatile eating experience that can now be sampled in glasgow "THE SUNDAY TIMES"Like us on facebook.. Asmaan Restaurant
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Indian Food that is Really Indian”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

One of the few truly Indian Food places, where the food actually taste's like Indian Food and not the PRETEND Indian Food that is served in 99.9% of the Indian Restaurants. Friendly Service as well!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    60
    12
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch from the great value lunch menu. 6,7 or 8 pounds for 3courses depending what you want. Food came out quickly which is what you want for a business lunch. Starters and mains tasted lovely, tea,coffee or ice cream for desert. Really nothing to moan about for the price. Decor dated, mirrors everywhere but this place has been here for years, no great hardship really.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HotGossip1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherton, Manchester
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

2nd visit , came 9 months ago.
Please bear in mind both experiences have been midweek , so it maybe completely different on a weekend.
Walked in , just another couple eating , greeted with a smile , waiter / manager , ( the only petrson serving) said sit where you like.
The decor is dated , but the restaurant is clean.
The server came over took my drink order ( cheap @ 2.50 for a pint of cobra) , and then returned and asked what i like re hot spice , peppers etc and Recommended my starter mains and sides.
Must admit both his choices were really good , one of the best indians i have had, his choices took me of my normal narrow selections.
Would Recommended for quality of food and service , another enjoyable meal @ 21.50 for 2 beers, starters , mains & sides great value to !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathanPaul66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, good value for money.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick meal before going to the theatre. Really busy but we were accommodated quite quickly. Food was fresh and really well cooked. Waiter was helpful with recommendations. Reasonable portions - not too large. Good value too. Would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureeent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“At least i tried the "Best Urbanspoon Restaurant in Glasgow"”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everytime i look for restaurants in Glasgow this one alway pops up, i have continually ignored it because i didn't like the look of it however i fancied an early dinner after my epic journey from Birmingham. I was seated as soon as i walked in the door, the decor was millions of fairy lights that twinkled, certainly different. A strangly dressed individual took my initial order for two poppadoms and spiced onion, the poppadoms were light and warm however the onions were overbearingly bland, and the price was £2:15, i ordered veg pakora in which 6 arrived again with a strange chilli type sauce, they were okay not much veg but plenty of batter. My main course consisted of Chicken Tikka Makibar and a Peshwari nan, the nan was superb but sadly the chicken tikka cooked in cream that i think had seperated was pretty evil or maybe thats how it is supposed to taste. I am afraid my gut feeling was right, very average food in a very average restaurant, cost £25:00 including one pint of Cobra, go back? No i will stick to the Kama Sutra

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asmaan Tandoori also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing