We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Cafe Source Too

Cafe Source Too
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Source Too is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #308 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $41
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Now entering it's fifth year of business at Hughenden, Cafe Source Too occupies the ground floor restaurant and the first floor Sports Bar of the recently refurbished West End venue at Hillhead Sports Club. Our aim is, like our original Merchant City venue, to showcase Scotland's finest ingredients, sourced from top Scottish suppliers, in delicious and satisfying dishes. Our A la Carte menu features traditional Scottish classics (with a modern twist) alongside brasserie-inspired cuisine (prepared with the best of Scottish produce). We also serve a range of daily specials, and offer great value dinner and pre-theatre menus. We stock a full range of carefully selected beers, spirits and wines, and use only freshly ground coffee. Service is relaxed and friendly, yet professional, and we are happy to serve you whether you're having a full meal, a quick business lunch, or are just in for a drink or a coffee.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have eaten here a few times,had lunch menu ,which is soup and a sandwich,both freshly made on the premises and good value(the cullen skink is best in scotland).They also do a la carte menu with some daily specials.The food is beautifully cooked has wonderful flavours and presentation.The staff always helpful.Relaxed dining at its best.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    65
    19
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent place to eat!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Booked through 5pm. Service: Impeccable Food: Brilliant Wine: Excellent. Went for a 65th birthday celebration

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Review of cafe source too”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The two of us had a meal here on the 19th of November. As usual the food was extremely good. we had the pre theatre menu which is excellent value. The waitress was very friendly and efficient. We always like the atmosphere and find it laid back and informal. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“West End snobbery at it worst”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have eaten here and always enjoyed the restaurant, so it was the first choice for the pre wedding dinner for my daughter. A quiet dinner with her aunts and a couple of friends.I doubt that any of us will be back. When we booked we were told that it wouldn't be a problem, a table for 14 on a Saturday night, the table was booked for 8pm. A couple of people arrived early but believe it or not we were still waiting for our deserts at 11pm!!
The waiting staff were rude, unhelpful and very unwelcoming, have they ever heard of customer service? We had to ask for menu's, drinks, for our order to be taken, the menu's to be taken away, where our main course was( only to be told there were other tables in front of us!) and for the dessert menu. this despite the staff standing round the bar. I felt as if I was an inconvenience to them when really it's their job.
When I spoke to the manager he was downright rude, argumentative and was insisting that it was all our fault, including "some people arrived early" and "you booked for 14 and only 13 turned up" People can and do pull out at the last minute. He also said that he wouldn't have taken a booking for a "hen night"on a Saturday night. He was extremely arrogant and patronising. Quite frankly this experience ruined what was to be a special occasion
Will I be back, doubt it, which is a pity because it's normally so good. West end or not a customer is a customer and deserves to be treated with respect, after all they're paying for it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim57g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad Attitude”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Visited with friends for a meal and drinks. Food was very average for the area but priced like its high end. Drinks were ridiculously overpriced. The bar staff were very good but the attitude of the owner is appalling. Seriously this guy shouldn't be in the trade and it pains you to hand over your cash. I visited the place years ago before it was rebranded and had a great time. Real shame it's gone this way.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmett1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Source Too also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Source Too? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing