We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glasgow's hidden gem”

La Bodega Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bodega Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #644 of 2,430 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Glasgow's hidden gem”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place is so atmospheric you'd think you were in the backstreets of some Spanish city, not the backstreets of Glasgow.
Great fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We won't argue that we're a little unusual. Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is where you go for REAL tapas!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Three of my Spanish conversation group and I went to this restaurant today for our annual Christmas meal. As others have mentioned, it's not in the most salubrious area of town, but by God the food was good! Because we wanted to practice our Spanish, the owner was happy to come out speak to us in Spanish, making suggestions about which and how much tapas we should have. A bottle of very decent red wine, two or three tapas each, bread, olives, churros and coffee set the four of us back £72. You'd pay twice that in a posh tapas bar and not eat anywhere near as good food. It was very quiet at lunchtime, but we want to come back when the music is on!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hey thank you for a great review. We're so glad you enjoyed the food and the Spanish Chat!
We are often a bit quiet at lunchtimes being a little off the beaten track - I don't think it's the distance so much as where we are situated - people don't expect to find a tapas bar in South Street. On the other hand I think that the location adds to the charm for a lot of people. However it's heading the right direction and there are definitely more locals starting to use us.
It's surprising more people don't use us at Chrismas time - we are only 5 mins from Partick and it's so easy to get a taxi to and from La Bodega. We get busier each year so that will hopefully be different in the future.
You are right though - evenings are a different matter and the Friday Salsa Club is always busy - particularly during the festive season as are the live performance nights.
Hope to see you there soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not for lunch”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I think this place probably functions far better at night. I don't mind the mismatched furniture and the 'rustic' look but there was no atmosphere in daylight. The food was ok and decent servings but my spanakopita was chewy - as though it had been heated in a microwave (not ideal with filo pastry!). Staff were friendly and toilets clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hey thanks for your review and sorry it's taken so long - I thought I had responded already!
I'm sorry your meal wasn't up to our usual standard - a great shame because we pride ourselves in getting it right and I must say the spinach & feta pie is one of my own favourites.
You are of course right that the atmosphere during the day is quite different from the evenings - especially on the weekends.
We are in a very unusual location but we are starting to see more locals coming to the venue for lunch now - and of course a busy venue has a quite different atmosphere from a quiet one. We are generally busier during the day in the summer period as well.
I hope you come back and enjoy a different experience next time. Thanks for taking the time to give us your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Spanish Tapas and Paella for great prices”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's a privately run Tapas bar with dance studios upstairs. Food is authentic and of great value. Be sure to try the paella which is made to order - need to book as it takes an hour or so! The venue can be a bit bare and rustic, and the service can be chaotic at busier times but it is truly a hidden gem in Glasgow!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank r-winger20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed your meal. We do try to keep things as authentic as possible so your comments are very much appreciated. (Glad you like our old doggie as well - he's a well behaved old character although he usually ends up in the office when things are busy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Friendly Staff! ”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited in September 2013 as a couple for lunch, and although the location doesn't do them any favors, nestled in an industrial area on south street and hard to find, the business itself is fantastic! First we were greeted by the more than friendly staff and made to feel welcome. The menu is great, nice simple traditional tapas menu! We had several different bowls from the menu, and not a single complaint - great food!

Upon leaving, the Spanish family that own the business and work the kitchen came out to ask if we enjoyed everything, very friendly, will visit again :)

Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Owner at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for a great review. We're glad you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Your comments are very much appreciated by both staff and owners. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to La Bodega Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing