We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers”

La Bodega Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bodega Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #624 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Sorry but I can't agree with the other reviews on here. We went on Saturday night and on making a booking (not needed) we were advised there was a band playing and it would be £10 each to hear them but were told they were very good. Sorry, but it was just like a jam session. The place was not busy but we were kept waiting for our food which came in dribs and drabs. After asking three times for the Spanish stew we were told it had been sent to another table! We were also given another tables food (twice) and advised the waiter it was not for us. No one seemed to know who had ordered what (and there were only four tables ordering food). Anyway when the owner came in someone must have told him we were not happy with the service and he gave us drinks on the house and did apologise. The food (when it arrived) was only so, so. There is a different between rustic and tatty and this place is definitely tatty. The ceiling is full of bits of chipboard patching it up. There were a couple of tables outside and these were crawling with ants. As you can probably guess, we will not be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glaluvthai30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. However, I'm sorry you were disappointed.

We always recommend that people book a table to avoid any disappointment, particularly if there is a performance on, as these nights frequently sell out.

Staff tried to give as much information as possible about the style of music and the entry fee and the band are indeed very popular in their genre. It wasn't a jam session, but sadly not to your taste in the end. We have events most Saturdays which are always listed on our FB page and Website - these are very varied from Salsa Bands to Cabarets & Flamenco Nights - so we do try to put on entertainment which appeals to a wide range of people.

I can only apologise again for the delay with your food - we had 2 new members of staff on who had just started that night and unfortunately there was a mix up with your order. As soon as we realised what had happened, the situation was corrected as quickly as possible and I do hope that the complimentary drinks did at least help to make up for the inconvenience.

The ceiling however, is not patched with chipboard ... it is a mix of plaster and painted concrete. The decor is very basic, but for lots of people it adds charm to the place.

The ants I can't answer for - they're clever little beasties and the warm weather does tend to encourage them so measures are regularly taken to prevent them. I guess in this case a section of their army made a bid for freedom - but it's certainly not the norm.

.... Herds of wildebeest sweeping majestically down South Street ... now that's another matter :)

Karen Pasi
(John Cleese fan)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Looks rough on the outside... and a bit on the inside - but the food!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Was out with friends for a film - and one of the folk had been to the venue before.

The area looked very very dodgy - and once inside the best description would be "rustic" - however the staff were very good - and the food excellent.

We had a stack of Tapas - they suggested tow per person - an we ordered a few and let them make up the numbers - well- all tasted fantastic but for a group of 4 blokes a little more were needed - so another half dozen were brought - quite quickly.

Along with a number of beers and a bottle of wine the bill was just over £90 - so great value - and i'd love to go back sometime when the dance and music flow....

.... and a plus point - they have a bar dog!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnappySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi There
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal and yes please do come back for our salsa night or one of our performance nights - the place still feels quirky but really has a real buzz on dance nights.
It is definitely off the beaten track even though it's only 5 mins from Partick but it gives it a very distinctive feel. Glad you like our dog lol - he's a cool old character :)
Cheers
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My birthday lunch”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went to this rather surprising place today on the recommendation of my sister in law (who is spanish). Very plain on the outside and rustic on the inside the food was as authentic as you can get outside Spain. We had a fantastic meal with great service and a very relaxed atmosphere. Baby and dog friendly which is always a plus for us. I can't wait to go back. Very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hey thanks so much for your review. We're really glad you enjoyed it . We're very proud to be a family friendly venue - pretty much what you'd expect in Spain.
The dance studios upstairs help with that - lots of parents enjoy some well earned "me" time in La Bodega while they wait for their kids to finish classes and we have family days on Sundays each month with tapas, dance & music workshops and games room - hope you can make it along to one of those at some time. ... and of course kids are welcome until 10pm.
regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dance, drinks and food”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great afternoon with 34 guys, doing all kinds of dancing laughing, having drinks and tapas. Its a wonderfull place to come, the tapas bar is very nice to relax and have a drink. The staff is outstanding and will do anything to make your stay pleasant! Great place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caspervwees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hey thanks so much for your review. We're so glad you had a great time - and you weren't the only ones who enjoyed themselves - staff and customers were highly entertained by our dancing Dutchmen - it was a pleasure to have you all there - you made a great party atmosphere!
regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“for a fun evening”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

La Bodega is an authentic spanish gem hidden beneath one of glasgow's only truly independent dance studios. Karen and Alexis have made an incredibly special location for dance and for food.

This means that the atmosphere of La Bodega is often interlace with people who are warmly dancing salsa or tango on the spacious dance floor. Meanwhile, the menu is not overbearing. You can be confident that what ever you order; the croquettes or gambas, fried chorizo or anchovies, will be a great choice.

Make it a favourite.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rozellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Manager at La Bodega Tapas Bar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hey
Thank you so much for your great review. We're so glad you enjoyed the food, the dance and the fun. Hope you make it back in soon.
regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodega Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to La Bodega Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing