We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your traditional Indian restaurant; yeah!”

Mother India - Dining In
Ranked #159 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not your traditional Indian restaurant; yeah!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

While visiting Glasgow we were taken to this restaurant by family. We climbed the stairs to the third floor and were treated to an excellent evening and meal. The atmosphere was fun, the decor was traditional and the service was attentive. One of the great things about this place is you can take your own drink and with corkage at just £2.95 per table, the night out was a bargain. The menu wasn't like your traditional Indian restaurant and instead offered some great alternatives. We ordered excessively, just to try a variety of dishes, and we weren't disappointed. Upon another visit we would be more than happy to return and if not, try one of its sister restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer_thomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    66
    19
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glaagow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and prices”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had an incredible meal last night. Skipped starters and went straight for main course to make sure there was room for it all. Smeena's slow cooked curry was really nice, not too spicy but lots of flavour. The chicken tikka was cooked to perfection and the sauce has a delayed kick to it, really good. Bill for five mains, two rice, bottle of wine and a few pints was about £90 which I think is great value. Warm atmosphere and busy place but you still have your own space. Staff very friendly and attentive. Will defo be back.

Helpful?
Thank MJM0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful! ”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We visited Glasgow for one night recently and Mother India was recommended to us by a member of staff in the local HD dealership.
It lived up to everything we were told!
Sublime food, friendly and attentive service, lovely atmosphere and excellent value for money.
We left with full stomachs, smiles on our faces and change from £50!
Should we ever find ourselves in Glasgow again we will be eating here.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Indian cooking as it should be”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a refreshing change from the same old recipes. This is Indian cooking at its best. Pakora like no other, delicious dansack with a light daal sauce, really fresh poppadums and skillfully made breads. What's more, Dining In is superb value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fothergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spice up your life.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The service, and welcoming manner of the staff,were all you would expect from this Indian delight.I attended on the night as a newcomer,and was apprehensive as to what I could expect, I was at once put at ease by the warm and sincere welcome which we received on enteringthis establishment.My wife and I left the ordering to my brother in-law who had visited before,we were presented with a platter which seemed to have at least a dozen different dishes which were highlighted on the main menu.This was enough to satisfy thefour of us,and as my brother in-law insisted on settling the bill,I can assume itmet with his approval.All in all,great food,great ambience,great place to round off a night.Highly Recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India - Dining In also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Mother India - Dining In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing