We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to write home about”

Chinatown Restaurant
Ranked #626 of 2,392 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had dim sum here on Wednesday the 2nd jan 2013 and the restaurant was busy. We have been here before but not for some time. In my view the food here has never been as good as the loon fung in glasgow. Unfortunately the lung fung has been closed for some time due to fire damage so this and the seewoo restaurant are the only two truly authentic chinese restaurants to eat if you want dim sum in glasgow. The food was good but nothing exceptional. Also the portions were on the small side and restaurant was quite mean with the amount of meat and seafood in the dishes. The noodle and rice dishes were noticeably smaller in portion size and also more expensive than the equivalent dishes at the seewoo restaurant. The food here is only marginally better than the seewoo restaurant. The food seemed quite salty as we were all very thirsty shortly after eating here. I do not think that we will be back anytime soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    42
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
1 review
“Terrible Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Really upset and appalled at the service received, when we queried politely about the extra charges on our bill, the staff slammed the bill in front of my family! Clearly someone should be in the firing line. After 20 years of custom, my friends and family will never go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thesilverstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reliable, proper Cantonese restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Been to this place for over 8 years now. Never let me down. It has proper Cantonese dim sum which we normally go for. Particularly like to go there in weekends as it really is like having tea in Hong Kong. Like the experience

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mmm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Buffet with a difference.choose as many starters from a menu as you can eat and then mains from a menu served at the table..not the usual free for all food that's sat about for who knows how long...a refreshing take on the buffet..no use unless the food is good I hear you say well it was not just good but excellent ..the place was two thirds filled with Chinese customers which in itself speaks volumes....a great experience and will be back..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very Good Dim Sum tea house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have now been twice in the last month, once with friends and once with family, and everyone enjoyed it both times.
The restaurant is great for a fun, informal dim sum banquet. A good selection of traditional dim sum are available, some of them adventurous for the western palate (duck feet, chicken feet etc) and some rarer finds for glasgow (wor teap, jiaozi,baozi,shanghai buns).
Good for large groups as the tables are large and usually covered in a vast array of steamers of different dim sum.
Seven people sharing 23 different pots of dim sum and 2 rounds of drinks came to £130approx.
Staff are friendly as you can get,and probably the busiest in Glasgow.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDougl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown Restaurant also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Chinatown Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing