We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends for Dinner”

Tennent's Training Academy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hidden behind the gates of the famous Wellpark Brewery in Glasgow’s East End sits Scotland's only purpose built cook school. Wide range of classes available from an afternoon cocktail-making class to a full professional chef qualification. Scottish cooking and whisky tastings available.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent a great day here. Michael Kilkie was an excellent host making everyone feel welcome and relaxed. His way of sharing his skills was superb and taught me a lot over a relatively short time. The facilities were 1st class particularly the kitchen and utensils. Plenty of the cooking to sample with some to take home. Many thanks to Michael and his staff for a relaxed and informative day.

Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi there Jim,

Thanks for your latest review of our Friends for Dinner class. We have passed your comments on to Michael who was delighted to hear he could be of so much help. It's always a benefit to have someone on hand during the class to get all those questions answered!

We hope you will be trying out the recipes at home and making sure you have mastered them for yourself.

Hope to welcome you again soon,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 187 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I attended the cocktail masterclass and we had a fab time! Our instructor was a lovely girl who was very informative. She gave us lots of hints and tips and opened our eyes to cocktails we would never have tried. It was great and since then we have put her tips into action when we have held our own cocktail nights. Thanks again!

Thank TinaJames2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Academy experience. It's great to hear you both enjoyed our Cocktail Masterclass so much. Our Cocktail Mixologist was delighted to hear your feedback and that she was able to teach you so much.

We hope you enjoy many more cocktail parties using our TTA hints & tips.

Up-to-date offers and new classes can be found on our website and Facebook page.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Great night was had with my work mates at Tennents for the cook curry and comedy night with Chef Michael Kilkie. The kitchen set up is fantastic and the demo part of the session was well explained. Lots of opportunity for chat over some booze too which is always nice! Great value too with taxi and comedy clubventeance included. Highly recommended for something different!

Thank CHRISTINE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hi there Christine,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Tennent's Training Academy. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Cook, Curry & Comedy evening.

Cook, Curry & Comedy is an old favourite of ours and always proves popular so were glad you found this class good value for money.

You can keep up-to-date with our website for new classes and our Facebook page is often updated with current deals we have running.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you again soon,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable day at the cook school. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and the tuition second to none. (I have been to other cook schools and this was the best). Sampled some of the cooking during the day and had sufficient to bring home for dinner for two - that's how generous the portions were. I would certainly recommend the academy, Michael Kilkie and his staff.

Thank 1234jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks very much for taking the time to review your time with us here at The Academy. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the Cook School.

Michael and the team were happy to hear your feedback and hope you take the time to test out the recipes at home.

We are always extending our list of leisure classes which you can keep up to date with via the website.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I along with almost 50 workmates took advantage of the private bar for our Christmas Night out last week. For a bargain compared to other Christmas venues we dodged the festive queuing, received top bar service, belted out Karaoke, struggled to finish an outstanding buffet and enjoyed attentive service throughout. Our price also included taxi's and entry to the Corinthian later on, however everyone has raved about what a great night they had and wished that we had just stayed at the brewery!!!

Another delight was the bar prices and vast selection of export Tennent's beers not available elsewhere in Glasgow.

Looking for an excuse to return.

Thank NizzyRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Sales & Marketing Exec at Tennent's Training Academy at Tennent's Training Academy, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent experience with us here at The Academy. We do our very best to provide top service and are glad to hear you enjoyed this.

I will be sure to pass your comments on to everyone who helped on the night - each of them also raved about how enjoyable the night had been.

We offer a wide variety of leisure classes, team building events or regular hires if you need an excuse to return!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Laura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennent's Training Academy also viewed

 

Been to Tennent's Training Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing