We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OVER PRICED COCKTAILS” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Booly Mardy's - CLOSED

Booly Mardy's
Cuisines: Grill, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: "A well-renowned cocktail bar in the west end of Glasgow, but serves decent food too".
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“OVER PRICED COCKTAILS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Last stop of the evening for cocktails, but overpriced and unfriendly staff. Thought £1.00 for a strawberry attached to top of glass was a bit expensive when you purchase a full box for less than £2.00, total rip off. When we questioned the strawberry price the obnoxious waiter informed us that "we knew what the price was when we ordered" however I am sure if the advertised that their strawberry daiquiri cost £6.50 and £1.00 for the strawberry they would not have many orders. If you are in the West End would give this place a miss, loads of other bars selling cocktails just as nice and with friendlier staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bambricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Only there for drinks, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Despite just visiting for a few drinks we were made more than welcome. Table service was excellent with the waiter remembering everyone's drinks, all eight of us. Have a fantastic range of gin, and rates up there top of the list of best g and t's ever. I look forward to returning here and perhaps next time try some food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS COCKTAILS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Want a fantastically fresh, delicious cocktail? This is the place for you!

Quite simply, the best cocktails in Glasgow. Oh and gets the sunshine all night long... roll on summer!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC_hasmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Food Good Wine Not so Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have had lunch here on a few occasions but this time we went in the evening. The menu was the same as lunch time but the food has been good on each occasion. Wines prices are fairly expensive and we tried the house wine at £17 a bottle but it was not particularly good. If they could offer a better quality wine at more reasonable price we would probably go more often as the food is well cooked and reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“West End Pearl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I regularly frequent Booly Mardy's (in fact we still refer to it as Bloody Mary's). It's our meeting place for friends and a starting point for any shopping trip. We generally just have a few drinks and the odd Sunday brunch, which by the way is second to none. This visit resulted in us eating a very late lunch as the weather was bad and the place was nice and cosy so we decided to eat rather than shop. I opted for the special - twice cooked pork fillet with mustard herb coating, black pudding mash, roast red onions and an apple and cider sauce at £11.95. It was delicious and all but licked my plate! Hubby also had a special - home made lorne sausage, creamy mash and onion gravy (£8.95)and he thoroughly enjoyed it. I tend not to eat sausage although it smelled fantastic so I couldn't resist a wee taste. It really was very tasty indeed. We decided maybe we should eat there more often than the odd Sunday.

Soup & sandwiches, burgers etc are also on the menu (our son loves the burgers). Booly's also do amazing cocktails and the staff are always attentive and friendly. It's relaxed atmosphere means it continues to be our favourite bar in the West End.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HMcAGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Booly Mardy's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing