We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere!”
Review of The Grosvenor Cafe

The Grosvenor Cafe
Ranked #464 of 2,407 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Love the relaxed and friendly stuff! Really good food :)
Been there quite a few times. Both for food and drinks, and every single time me and my friends had a good time! Variety of food is quite good, although prices of small plates are a bit too much(especially seafood) because when I ordered mussels(although they were delicious) quantity of it was way too small, and loads of mussels were closed. Which I think chefs should pay attention to that as it is only a small plate you are getting. Pork belly is simply brilliant tho, would definitely recommend it if you havent tried it yet!
Overall, nice place, interesting and a bit different ambient :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at The Grosvenor Cafe, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We'll certainly take your points about the small plates on board. Glad you enjoyed the overall experience! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    157
    62
    73
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

So good that I'm reviewing it on tripadvisor! Went wih 2 friends and had a pizza and 2 burgers and chips, between us polished the lot off very easily! Definitely the beta burger iv ever had, chips couldn't be less greasy and the pizza was crisp and fresh. So so impressed - and then the waitress gave us a cinema discount even though we weren't going to it so it came to only £24!! Great atmosphere with a vintage fair going on at the same time, also very family friendly. Literally would go all the way to Glasgow just for this place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyds92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at The Grosvenor Cafe, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and comprehensive review (with picture included)! Please do come back and enjoy some more food in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went there for Sunday lunch with our baby and another couple who had one new baby and one older child. What a great place, activities for kids, great food and good service. Will be going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at The Grosvenor Cafe, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It's lovely to hear that all ages enjoy the Cafe! We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Les Mis Cinema Meal Deal”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Grosvenor is a fantastic cinema and as always it was lovely being able to enjoy a glass of wine with the movie. We decided to eat afterwards and the food in the grosvenor café is excellent. The menu was slightly limited but what we had was delicious! The only issue was the service..it took some time for us to be seated and then even longer before our drinks were brought to us. Staff seemed confused because we said we were eating as part of the meal deal and this seemed to take time to clarify. When we did get served,the staff were very friendly but clearly rushed off their feet which is unfair to them & their customers!
Overall,it was a really enjoyable evening but I think the price could be reduced to make it more of a 'deal' or if it was a bottle of wine instead of a cocktail it would add better value! I will go definitely back as it is a great venue with a class atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TinydancerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at The Grosvenor Cafe, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. I am glad that your overall experience was an enjoyable one. We have certainly taken all of your comments on board and hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been to the Grosvenor cinema many times, but have never visited the Cafe before. That will change because we were both hugely impressed by the food and by the service. Being at the older end of the spectrum, we both thought it might be a bit too noisy, but it wasn't, it was actually very pleasant and relaxing. Between us we had roast mackeral and a Grosvenor burger and we were impressed by the quality and the quantity of the food and the quality of the wine. The service was attentive and friendly without being pushy and we did not feel at all rushed; unusual in the West End. We now intend to eat there each time we visit the cinema.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fran49Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at The Grosvenor Cafe, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you intend to pop in again. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grosvenor Cafe also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Grosvenor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing