We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent on every level”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #45 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed December 14, 2008

As I'm from the Glasgow area I rarely stay in any of the city's hotels, however I decided to book in as I was attending a function in the HIlton that night and I got a great deal through a Daily Mail promotion running at the time (£58bb per twin room). I was so impressed with the hotel and wished I had more time to enjoy it that I have booked in again this weekend (unfortunately on not such good rate!). The room I had the last time was spacious, spotlessly clean and all the staff I encountered were friendly and extremely efficient. It was far superior than any 4 star city centre hotel experience that I have had before. I can't comment on breakfast as unfortunately due to a very late night I didn't make it but I'm looking forward to sampling it this time ! Overall - highly recommended if you are coming to Glasgow and also in a very central location for all the sights.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sunshine01Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for your excellent review, I am delighted you have chosen to stay with us again.
I will pass your great feedback on to the team and please contact me if I can be of any assistance during your stay.
I hope to get the chance to meet you.

kind regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 2,203 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2008

Don't get me wrong - this is a lovely hotel, lovely welcoming people, very clean and great food BUT...!

We were staying for two nights and on the Saturday night it was 'Christmas party night'. We were on the third floor and the DJ might as well have been in the room with us!! I gave up trying to sleep and read my book until 1 a.m. when the party finally finished.

Be warned - they have 2/3 party nghts a week in December.

Also, we requested adjoining rooms as we were taking our grandchildren with us. On checking in we were told they were adjoining, but when we got to our rooms we had a room between us. We rang reception to see if this could be rectified but were told that the hotel was fully booked. Being quiet people we did not make a fuss but it did mean that we had to have one adult and one child per room - not ideal. We had booked this weeks in advance and would not have thought it beyond the whit of man to put us in adjoining/interconnecting rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenyscumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for your review and please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you had with your adjoining rooms and noise on your recent stay with us. We do try to ensure that all our guests not attending party nights are allocated a bedroom which is far away from any party noise but I am sincerely sorry that we got things wrong for you on this ocassion.
Can I ask that you please contact me directly on 0141 270 2319 or at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk if you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail.
Thank you for your kind comments at the beginning of your review but once again, sincere apologies that you had to put up with the party noise.

kindest regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

After reading all the fantastic reviews on this hotel we decided to give it a go for our recent 2 day break in Glasgow and it was superb.

The staff were friendly and efficient and for the price of a double room booked at a discounted rate via Alpha Rooms, we were given an executive double room when we arrived and the room was HUGE! We had a Queen sized bed, a large bright bathroom and a large three piece suite in the room as well!

The hotel has a lovely swimming pool/ spa complex as well, which was most welcome after a hard day's shopping!

It's very easy to walk to and from the centre of Glasgow and it was only a 20 minute stroll from the Central Railway Station which was ideal for us.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel to all my friends and am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ckmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for the great review and I am delighted to see that you have chosen us from seeing our previous reviews.
I have already passed your great comments on to my team here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow on your next visit.
Please contact me at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk if I can be of any further assistance.

kind regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2008

I have stayed in the Menzies several times when visiting Glasgow, i've never been dissapointed, rooms/bathrooms are always spotless, food is excellent and i have never found fault with staff. Always take advantage of the facilities which are always kept to a high standard although never tried beauty treatments, they look cheap enough.

My partner and i are regular travellers to glasgow and have stayed at most of the 4/5 * hotels and rate the menzies as our favourite. Keep up the good work......

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank weevonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Thank you for your excellent review and I am delighted to see you rate us as your favourite hotel.
I sincerely appreciate your great feedback which I will be passing on to the team today. It is comments like your own that do help everyone "keep up the good work."

Please contact me if I can be of any further assistance and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.

kind regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It is located on the side of the city centre, about 20 minutes walk to Buchanan Street. Despite being central, the main problem with the location is that it is right next to a busy road and a flyover and looks a bit dark and ugly also, the building reminds me of a prison and the surroundings are a bit spooky after dark.

On the inside is very nice, it has a very big and welcoming reception area. The rooms are spacious with a huge bed and plenty of pillows, a little coffee table with chairs and a nice big des, very comfortable and nicely decorated. The bathroom is big, very white and very clean, with plenty of lighting for make up, etc. with a bath and lots of towels available. It also had wireless internet conection but if you don't bring your computer there is a keyboard that allows you to access the internet from the television by paying a fee. The hotel also has a spa, I didn't go but looked at the brochure and they have lots of treatments and are not too expensive.

The breakfast selection is is quite good, juices, cereals, scottish breakfast, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit salads a nice selection of teas.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marujilla80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for the great review, but sorry you did not enjoy our location. Most people like it because we are conveniently located at Junction 19 for easy access by road and also five minutes walk from Glasgow Central Train Station.
I am very glad that it did not spoil your stay however and can I ask that you please contact me the next time you plan on staying in Glasgow, as I would be delighted to meet you.

kind regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I have just returned from a weekend break at the Menzies. The hotel is in a great location, easy to find from the motorway and walking distance to the centre and also to the SECC and Science Centre. The land around is pretty derelict but there is a secure car park and this will not affect your stay. We had a lovely corner room with lots of space for a family of three.
Unfortunately we did not have time to try out the leisure facitlities but they looked good.
We were on a bed and breakfast rate and the breakfast was lovely - lots of choice and fast and efficient service.
Only problem we had was on returning from a full day out we found our door had been left unlocked by the cleaners. It transpired there was a fault with the mechanism and we had to remove the handle and carry it with us until this could be fixed! We have stayed at the Marriott in Glasgow before (just across the road) and would say overall the Menzies would win out of the two despite our door problems!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank noblena17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Many thanks for your kind comments and great review but I am very sorry for the problem with your door handle. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

I am glad however that you still had a great stay and can I ask that you please contact me the next time you are returning to Glasgow.

kind regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Good 4* hotel and good room price. Good location. Booked through alpharooms.com for about £38 per night BB, in a triple room. Clean and tidy hotel and rooms. Friendly staff. Nice pool, sauna, steam room. Good breakfast. Stayed before, and will go back again! Only down point - pity the land out in front not been redeveloped.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank FiloPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LennyHughes, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2008

Dear Tripadvisor,

Thanks for the great review and I am delighted to hear you will be returning. I look forward to meeting you in the near future.

Please contact me at lenny.hughes@menzieshotels.co.uk.

kind regards


Lenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,022 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,694 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $86 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing