We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, with few issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good, with few issues.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Two night stay at hotel. Have stayed at Menzies Hotel on many occassions. Standards have definately slipped. Room very tired. Damp smell in bathroom. And thick dust on the blinds in bar. Not 4 star anymore.

Room Tip: Think before choosing this hotel .......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    737
    283
    102
    74
See reviews for
361
875
68
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after attending a party in the city. We thought we would treat ourselves to a luxury double room and it didn't disappoint, it was spacious, comfortable and very clean with plenty of toiletries provided as well as a complimentary mini bar. The fluffy bathrobes were also a nice touch. We didn't have time to check out the spa facilities downstairs but they looked lovely anyway!

Room Tip: Our luxury double room was not much more expensive than a normal double room when booking through bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have returned to this hotel several times as it offers very good value. It can be quite busy but that simply reflects its popularity. A swim and a full English breakfast is a good start to the day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garioch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Menzie's hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the main train station in a street just off a busy road. It's a pleasant, clean hotel with the usual facilities like wifi, tea and coffee etc. The price was about average for Glasgow city centre and breakfast was a buffet-style with the usual hot and cold selections. I was surprised to see staff fill up the cereal serving bowls at 10.30 as breakfast ended, though, presumably to store overnight?

All in all, I had no complaints but there was nothing to wow me and make the Menzies Glasgow more memorable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Glasgow was a great first stop on a two week vacation for my son and I and the Menzies Hotel set the tone for the trip. Concierge David and Front Desk Kirsten were extremely helpful as we tried to find restaurants and sights to see. They gave excellent advice and directions. The restaurant in the hotel provided a great breakfast buffet as well as excellent evening meals. There is a quiet relaxing bar just off of the lobby where you can enjoy a drink and have conversation. Our room was plenty big for the two of us and it was always clean. We felt safe and secure in this location and walked to many locations that we wanted to see. Glasgow is an interesting city and the Menzies Hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights in early July, and found it met or exceeded expectations. The hotel is located just a 5-minute walk from a Hop-On, Hop-Off Bus Stop, and is about a 10-minute walk from the Central Train Station and one block from the Clyde River. (There is a lightly-used sidewalk along the Clyde that I used for morning jogging.) The rooms are very quiet, and there is a 115/230 volt electrical outlet in the bathroom that can be used to charge both European and American shavers, cell phones, and cameras. The staff is exceptionally friendly, and the breakfast is excellent, with a wide variety of both cold and hot foods. Our room was average-sized, but had twin beds and was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyHerndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on the 13/7/13 for one night , from the moment my daughter and i arrived the staff was lovely and so helpful , our room wasnt ready yet so we decided to sit in the bar area to wait and ordered afternoon tea for two at a very reasonable price of £9.99 which was lovely. When we got in our room it was very large and spotlessly clean and the view from our windows was fab, a nice touch was the reception phoning our room to ask if everything was ok . the next morning we went for our breakfast and again staff was lovely and i must say the breakfast was great and plenty of choice , i would most certainly recommend this hotel to stay in as ive stayed in many hotels in Glasgow including a five star hotel in my opinion it does not have a patch on the Menzies ,Menzies should be a five star in my opinion .

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor and the views were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariawelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
1,894 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 95 in Glasgow
3,288 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,212 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing