We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast Let down”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Best night's sleep ever !! Very comfy large bed. Hotel Decor very tired.
Breakfast a huge dissapointment, Under staffed for the weekend. Lack of choice for non meat eaters. I would stay again and not have breakfast , But only if it was cheaper than other hotels within the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatchback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Hatchback,

Thank you for placing your review and for your very kind comments in relation to the staff and the comfort of the rooms - we do get a lot of praise in this regard.

I was however very concerned to read your feedback in relation to breakfast and have tried to contact you via the site to understand where we went wrong as I cannot understand your feedback. Our breakfast offering caters for all tastes and receives continuous praise for the wide selection of choice - with over 114 items on the buffets - plus a seperate menu with extra items that are prepared to order.

I really would be grateful if you could help me and contact me with regard to your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for your dissappointment.

Kind regards

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    729
    275
    100
    74
See reviews for
355
864
68
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel I have stayed in! I can't speak highly enough of the staff as they will do anything for you! On arrival we parked the car in the hotels car park then headed to reception(2hours early) and were delighted when told our room was ready for us! Room was big and comfortable looking, only grumble I would have about room is that 'double bed' was actually two singles pushed together! We then went to Waves leisure club which I must say was spot on! Again the staff there were very helpfull and also love to have a chat with guests! We had dinner in the bar on first nite as we were in a rush for a show, and could not fault it one bit! The same goes for the breakfast, good selection and lovely, sets you up for a long day getting dragged about shopping! All in all I thought this hotel was amazing! Also must point out after reading this in another review, hotel is situated a 5minute SAFE walk to shop and pubs in city centre! 5stars!
Mr and mrs Clark

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blitardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located close to centre of Glasgow beside motorway and railstations, though immediate surrounds rather drab.
Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff.
Large room, comfy bed and powerful shower.
Good choices at breakfast including a buffet, but a 7:30 start on a Saturday means not a moment before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubsandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

stayed there for weekend great rate for good room and food 159 pounds how can you beat that meal alone about 45 pounds big rooms comfy bed sky sports free wifi great pool sauna and spa and the staff the nicest you could meet honest cant wait to go back trying to book for new year but unfortunatly booked and for folk moaning about bar prices 3 75 not to expensive

Room Tip: try for upgrade to suite 20 pounds well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed over for 2 nigths. The rooms are quite big and clean, but look old and dated. Luckily the 100 channels on the telly helps to boost the rating...they also have Sky Sports...which is a bonus if you like your football.
Had dinner in the restaurant and was not really impressed, they price is high and quality very average. The prices in the bar also very very expencive. I've stayed in much better hotels that charge less.
The worst was the breakfast, which on a weekend was horribly busy and the hot food did not look very nice. It probably looked nice for a bunch of guys still drunk from last nights stag party ...but not for me.
The bed was comfy tho...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1rjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First time at this hotel and found it to be very nice. Secure parking and a nice bar / restaurant if you do not want to venture far but its very close to the centre of the City for shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Room that we had was very big but that might have been because it was a corner room. Breakfast was included in our rate and this was a little bit of a letdown but only for the hot buffet it was all a bit on the greasy side but everything else was ok. Staff were very friendly and keen to help. Did not try the pool area but it looked clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked here for our anniversary weekend and liked it so much we stayed an extra night, the staff could not be more helpful and when we checked into our room we found an anniversary card and they also upgraded our room status which was lovely. We stayed originally on the weekend deal which included b&b and dinner for 1 night, the food was fabulous and the service excellent. Can't rave enough about the place but will be back.

The swimming pool is very good and the cleanliness astounding.

Room Tip: it is about 10 minute walk to central station and then all the shops are within easy reach you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The health and leisure club at the Hallmark Hotel Glasgow offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing