We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Menzies hotel is a little hidden, but still in the city centre. Just back from there is the tour bus station! It's about 6 blocks from the train station. You can easily walk around the city. The room was clean and big enough. In the front desk they're charming and try to help you as much as they can.
The breakfast was absolutely amazing! very British with a touch of haggis.If you want flavorful Indian's Restaurant ask at the front desk where is Indian Quay (they recommended this one).
I really enjoyed scotland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevina0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    710
    264
    93
    67
See reviews for
341
823
64
319
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was very impressed once again by the whole Menzies experience. The breakfast was superb; the pool and spa facilities were very clean and not too busy; the room itself was spotless and spacious with a huge comfortable bed; and the staff as always were very helpful and professional.

I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamese83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My friend and I booked a spa day package which included use of facilities, 30 min massage and 30 min facial, plus afternoon tea.

The steam room and pool were nice but changing rooms and showers ect were run down and not very clean.
We were taken for our treatments 15 mins late and left waiting on beauty beds for 10mins before treatments began.
The back massage was mediocre, but the facial was very poor, only one brief cleanse, no tone, half hearted exploitation, slight attempt at facial massage and did not even tone or moisturise properly at the end (missed my nose and neck completely).
Total Treatments time 40mins!!

The whole place is far too hot.

The afternoon tea included nice, fresh sandwiches and lovely cupcakes, the scone however was not good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kitty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipMellor, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Glasgow, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Kitty35,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your recent review and please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your expectations in regard to your use of the Leisure Club.

I was very concerned to read that you felt that the changing rooms were tired and not clean – I can assure you that this is certainly not indicative and I have asked that the team leader review this to ensure no future repeat.

In relation to your treatments I have forwarded your review to the owner of the Savannah Spa who was most concerned to learn of the poor feedback, especially when there are no negative comments left with her team about the treatments and she would be more than happy to discuss your comments with her.

On a positive note I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the afternoon tea, even if the scone was not to your particular taste and thank you for that great feedback.

I do hope that we may welcome you back the hotel as some point in the near future and again thank you for taking the time submit your review

Sincerely

Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was at least our 7th stay at the Menzies, this time we took our children (7yo &1yo) we have stayed in a loft apartment which was one very large room with a mezanine bed area, this flat had 2 seperate rooms.

The livingroom was small but very comfortable with sofa area lots of tv chanels, cd and radio player and some magazines, the complimentry mini bar was well stocked with soft drinks and water. The kitchen area has everything you could need for a longer stay with a very compact kitchen hidden under the work surface, lots of tea, coffee biscuits provided and fresh milk on request at no charge.

The bathroom was huge and very clean it had a large sink area a bath and a large shower cubicle with power shower, the towels were white and fluffy, 2 waffle bathrobes provided, the bathroom had lots of lovely products shampoo, bath crystals, body lotion etc...

The bed room massive with plenty of room for the kingsize bed, single bed, cot and furniture including the second tv.

The hair drier was great really powerful, the mirror and lighting were not great for doing make up.

Room Tip: loft 013 has seperate bed and living room, a huge bathroom with double walk in shower and a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lalaforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here on our lst day of a 12 day CIE tour. Our room was over the bar area and was large. Our friends were in the other section and had a tiny room.
All were clean.
Breakfast was good but dinner left a lot to be desired. More like diner food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronadebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice and it is lovely. It is as you would expect with a larger hotel. Staff are pleasant enough but not that friendly, you are more of a room number than a peron in these hotels.

There were alot of staff who were of other nationalities which is only a problem when you cant understand them which was the case at this hotel.

The rooms are lovely, we upgraded and got the larger rooms with the mini bar which was nice.

I cannot comment on the spa facilites as we did not use them.

The food in the restuarant was nice although they did not refill the breakfast dishes at the buffet quick enough and there were long queue's. The evening meal was lovely although it took 2.5 hours for us to served and have a three course meal which was quite slow.

The maids entered our room when we were getting ready for breakfast which we did complain about.

Overall it is a nice hotel, staff could be more friendly with a more personal attitude to guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel was in an excellent location with the tube station across the road. Room was very clean but needed an update. Housekeeping kept disturbing us in the morning and reception seemed indifferent to our concerns. The breakfast was great and the spa was relaxing. I think this is a reasonably priced hotel but could address a few things like service and decor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ally_bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Glasgow

Property: Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Address: 27 Washington Street, Glasgow G3 8AZ, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Glasgow Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station this AA 4 star hotel offers quiet, spacious, air-conditioned rooms with free wi-fi, Sky Sports 1,2,3 and F1 in our rooms, leisure facilities and on-site parking. The "Waves" health and leisure club offers a 15 metre pool, steam room and fully equipped gymnasium. The Savannah Spa also offers 3 treatment rooms. Our bedrooms are quiet, spacious, modern, yet traditional and offer free Wi-Fi, 32 inch flat screen TVs with Freeview, ironing facilities, bathrobes, mini fridges, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has been accredited with a Silver award from Green Business Tourism. George Street, Argyll Arcade and the St Enoch Centre are all within a 10 minute walk, the SECC is a 15 minute walk and Scotland’s National Stadium at Hampden is 5 minutes away by car. Car parking is available at the hotel at a small cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Menzies Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing