We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing cold all day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Freezing cold all day”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Attended a function at the hotel yesterday. After repeatedly telling staff we were cold it was just ignored. Guests even started putting coats on in the bar area. A disgrace in a hotel of this standing. Function itself was amazing. Shame it was spoiled by this.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fussyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    512
    213
    99
    70
See reviews for
241
542
73
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is well situated in the West End of the city and looks to have been recently renovated. It's a short walk to the nearest Subway and there are lots of restaurants/bars in close proximity. Rooms are good and the staff are excellent. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Peter P

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

it was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and in particular our location.

I have passed your compliments to the entire team as this encourages us to continue striving to provide the best service.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights earlier this week. It is well located opposite the Botanic Gardens in the West End - not great for the central business area (a 35-40 minute walk) but good for tourists visiting the area and all that the West End has to offer.

For a business hotel, it had everything you could need. It met - but did not exceed - expectations. Rooms were as one would expect from a hotel in this chain - a bed, desk and spacious bathroom with relatively good products. The one thing which did stand out was the very comfortable bed - some would regard the mattress as a bit too hard - but I thought it was fantastic and meant a very comfortable night's rest was had.

Drawbacks of the hotel are that it does not have an on-site gym. Whilst access to the gym at the other Hilton in the city is possible, it is a "10 minute taxi ride" away so not particularly convenient. Also, a charge of £14.95 for wi-fi is not great as wi-fi is very much a standard expectation today.

That said, there were many positives too. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly - particular compliments to the lady on reception in the morning and the concierge who were delightfully friendly, pleasant and helpful. The breakfast buffet was also good - pretty much what you would expect.

Overall, a good hotel and pretty standard for a business-type hotel. Nothing to write home about - either in a good or bad way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Darren F

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your stay.

We appreciate your feedback, both complimentary and constructive, as this assists us in continuing to do what we do best, while improving continually on our property and service.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful, clean and comfortable room. Excellent staff. Great location. Every time I visit Glasgow I stay here and am always delighted with the quality of the rooms and the kind , friendly and helpful staff. Plus I love the location in Glasgow's stunning West End and proximity to the University.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rhodas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear rhodas2014

Thanks for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was lovely to hear that as a repeat guest you continue enjoying your time with us.

We always strive to provide the best experience to all our guests, and your feedback encourages us to continue doing this.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I recently attended a 3 day meeting at this hotel & even though i did not stay i feel i need to write a review about the incredible service we received throughout. A young guy by the name of Stephen (he looked like a small version of the hulk as me & the other ladies i was with kept telling him) was not only on hand to deliver anything & everything that was needed by us at the meeting he also had fruit ready for us every day ( we are health workers & conscious of eating to many pastries & muffins) and a glass of orange juice for a lady who didn't like tea or coffee. His fantastic sense of humour & extremely professional attitude left us feeling like we were a top priority we really were left astounded to have received such amazing service & its due to this that me & my husband are planning on booking a couple of rooms at the hotel later this year for friends that will be visiting from the US

Room Tip: Didn't sleep in hotel but try to get young Stephen from meetings to serve you, he is a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear SaraB

Firstly, thank you for choosing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor for your meeting. I will admit that your description of Stephen did cause a few chuckles among us!

It was fantastic to hear that the standard of service you received was so high, and that Stephen made you feel so comfortable with us. This is a level that we strive to provide all our guests with, and your compliments have been passed to our General Manager and the relevant Heads of Department as this encourages us to continue doing this.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great hotel, Great staff, great location. Huge selection of pubs near by and restaurants. If you are feeling fit its is in walking distance to the SECC. Clean rooms, everything you expect from a good Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Darren M

Thanks for reviewing your stay at the hotel.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially our location and staff.

I have taken this opportunity to share your compliments with our entire team as this encourages us to continue providing the best service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The room was impeccably clean and the bathroom accessories were lovely. Check-in was efficient and we were delighted to have been upgraded to a bigger room! On the downside, at 750am the next day it sounded like every ten minutes someone above our room was hoovering then stopping then starting! And the hallways had a completely over-powering stench of air freshener. But over-all a great stay :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear QueenieBean

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor, especially since it was such a special occasion.

I have passed your all feedback to our General Manager and the relevant Heads of Department, as this encourages us to continue doing the things we do best, and also to improve on the things we don't.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,169 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing