We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnighter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Woking UK
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Overnighter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here on Saturday night, 8th Feb. We were attending a wedding reception just across the road, so we picked it for the convenience really. Perfectly good hotel, though finding a parking space was a bit hit and miss. The receptionist was welcoming and cheery, and looked after our bags until check in time. When we did check in, the bags were already up in the room, nice touch. The room was a standard room on the 2nd floor, so no view to speak of. Comfy bed, decent bathroom, good shower, so no faults there. The hotel restaurant – Bovine – is certainly worth a visit – the fixed price menu was a bargain and the steak I had was terrific. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear SurreyTraveller

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor recently.

Our team always strives to provide the best guest experience and I have shared your compliments with them.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    504
    211
    95
    68
See reviews for
235
522
71
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I attended the Hogmanay ceilidh with my group of friends. It was a big disappointment and not at all worth the money it cost. The food was ok however my friends with special dietary requirements (diary free and vegetarian) were continuously given inappropriate dishes for their requirements. Almost every course was incorrect for them despite us informing the waiting staff every time of their requirements. The dance floor was tiny and ceilidh dancing was impossible. Dancers were crammed into a tiny space and moving was just not possible so the ceilidh was unenjoyable and it almost felt unsafe at some points. Very disappointing and would not recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear TravellerK2013

Thank you for your review of your visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was disappointing to hear that you were disappointed with your evening, here, however I believe that all the issues you raised were addressed directly with yourself.

Your feedback has been passed to our General Manager and the Heads of Department for consideration.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked a King Deluxe room for three nights the weekend before Christmas. The room didn't look anything like the picture on the Hilton website, but was fine, and the bed was very comfortable. Bathroom fairly basic though, with poor ventilation. Lots of condensation. We had a mild panic on our first night as there appeared to be no hot water. However, we realised it was a water saving shower head and the water was taking several minutes to come through. Suggestion - turn on the bath tap instead at full blast - the hot water comes through much quicker and then you can switch to the shower. Room service menu is pretty limited. As a vegetarian, there were little or no choices other than the soup, as I recall. This was very good though. We were a bit staggered to note that the kettle's base was glued to its tray ! Obviously a high class of clientele in this hotel, if you have to do that…..

Breakfast was, frankly, very poor. No healthy cereal choices. What looked like supermarket bread. A few sweet pastries. Fried breakfast food in bain maries. No eggs cooked to order - only pre cooked fried eggs. There were small bowls of fresh fruit salad, thankfully. The breakfast staff were efficient and friendly though.

We expected party noise, given the timing, and were not disappointed. Quite a few people returning to their rooms and making a lot of noise in the early hours. We had asked for a quiet room and were situated at the end of a corridor. However, the doors aren't exactly sound proof and you can hear corridor conversations. They also use a very strong deodoriser in the corridors. I am not sure what smell they are trying to cover up, but the deodoriser is pretty full on !

The best thing about this hotel though is its location. Fantastic for tourists as you are close to a lot of the sights. We visited the Botanical Gardens (2 minutes walk), the old university (10 minute stroll), Kelvingrove Park and Museum/art gallery (15-20 min stroll), the fabulous Hunterian museum and art gallery (10 minutes) and even walked into the heart of the city - a further 10-15 minutes from Kelvingrove Park. There is a subway station about 3 minutes from the hotel. Too easy. There is a wide choice of cafes and restaurants near the hotel. We tried the Ubiquitous Chip and had an excellent meal, despite the noisy Christmas parties going on around us !

I would stay here again because of the hotel's location, but not for anything else I'm afraid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allcorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Allcorners

Thanks for reviewing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed our location in the heart of the West End.

I have passed your feedback regarding the breakfast to our Executive Chef as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Usually we stay at Du Vin and while clearly not directly comparable i have to say Hilton surprised us! We booked as part of BA package. Lovely staff Immaculate Room and shower. Early check in. Concierge happy to book us taxi's etc. Only minus was we were in 202 and the service lift started up behind us early on saturday. The traffic doesnt bother us us its exactly the same traffic noise as you get at one D! Would definately try them again next time. The location is perfect for getting around glasgow and tube into town. no need for car.

Room Tip: not 202 next to service lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear AuntyH

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was fantastic to hear that we exceeded your expectations following your stay at another hotel in the area, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the area.

Please advise us when you book your next visit and we will try to ensure that you are not placed in the specific room you mentioned.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here before for a nice night out. This time around however very dissapointed by a Hilton brand - the first room (104) had both window handles broken so could not close the window. The reception staff was helpfull and relocated us into 233 whcih had absolutely stinky and mouldy bathroom. Maild on the bath edge and on the shower curtain.

Premier in downt he road is far cleaner for a fraction of the Hilton price. Not impressed.

Room Tip: aim away from the Great western road. They only have single glazed windows facing this very busy roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostjan355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Bostjan355

Thank you for reviewing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that you were unhappy with the alternative room you were shown and moved to. Had our team been made aware of this, we would have been able to offer another room which would have suited your requirements.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us however, as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just checked in the hilton Grosvenor today. We are here with a group of colleagues and I already wish we had picked another hotel.

Check in - Firstly, despite requesting an early check in they made us wait for over 4 hrs, several folks checked out but their housekeeping staff didn't start work until 11am. Really? At a Hilton? Wasn't looking forward to a 4 hr lobby wait after a 15hr international flight.

Ambience & Location - this is the only positive aspect. The building has nice ancient style character, still looks new. Small lobby, Only three floors. Its near a Starbucks, and close to plenty of pubs and bars. About 25£ ride from the airport(15mins).

Rooms - fancy new paint and interiors. Comfy bed. Nice bathrooms. Small closet, no spectacular views.

Room service - sucks, slow, very few options. Nothing to eat for a vegetarian. I was excited to see some Asian /Indian options but was told those are pre-packed meals. Items don't arrive as described in the menu (got something very different from menu). Also, pretty expensive. >15£/item.

Amenities - no gym, no pool, not many good channels on the TV. No free Internet unless you pay 15£ a day. Water is 4£ per day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yuvarajvima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear yuvarajvima

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your stay.

I'm glad that you enjoyed our building and rooms, however I was disappointed to hear that you were unhappy at having to wait to check in. Unfortunately, our check in time is 3pm, and where possible we accommodate early arrivals, should rooms be available.

I have passed all your comments to our General Manager and the relevant Heads of Department, as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Premium paid for deluxe room but even on advance purchase this was far too expensive. To be told this was the second best room in the Hotel was a little comforting until we actually entered the room! Quite nice decor but 2 queen beds really??? I would have much rather had a shower and a bath but what was provided was a hose between the bath tap and the cheap looking shower head that turned out to be broken and couldnt deliver all the water to the shower head. Room generally clean but not up to the normal Hilton standard. Very dissapointed and will not be returning to this Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Arthur Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Arthur Y

I would like to thank you for reviewing the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

It was disappointing to hear that you felt the room you were allocated did not meet the high standards you have come to expect from Hilton, however I assure you that your comments have been passed to our General Manager and the relevant Heads of Department.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing