We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beds too small!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #36 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beds too small!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here 05-07.10.13, as we were going to see Rod Stewart at the Hydro, which was FANTASTIC!!! Hotel was nice enough, with the usual Hilton breakfast, which was very good. However, the website booking leads you to believe you will get a king size bed, which is very important for me. When we got to the room it was a standard double bed- disappointing. I asked if we could upgrade to a room with a bigger bed, but was told all the rooms were standard doubles. I have a super king bed at home, and if I'd known they only had doubles, I would have booked elsewhere. As a result, I had 2 very poor nights sleep. The bar was very lively, which was fine, but not for anyone who wanted a quiet drink. We did eat in the bar, and what we had was reasonably good, and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you need bigger than a double bed, you will be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathOWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    508
    212
    98
    69
See reviews for
238
535
72
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Excellent staff, made our whole party feel welcome from the moment we checked in. Food excellent especially the breakfasts. We were there for our son's wedding and we could not have been more pleased with the venue, food and service at the Reception.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member

Thank you for your review of the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your son's wedding at the hotel as we always strive to provide the best service to all our guests. It was especially lovely to hear that you appreciated the welcome you received and our breakfasts.

I have passed your compliments on to our entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for one night in a family room. A lovely large room very clean.
I am always concerned when u find a fan in a room but it was needed as the room was warm, in fact so warm we had to open the window and here is where the issue is......... At £150 a night I didn't expect to be woken at the crack of dawn with deliveries to the next door Waitrose!! Now with a child you will be up early however when there as part of a function the said child was up dancing after 12!! The noise started just after 6am and didn't stop. There also sounded like rubbish being collected and with the window closed we were still aware just how noisy it was and we were all awake.
So although its a lovely hotel and very nice staff please ask for a room that doesn't face onto Waitrose we spend a lot of money staying here and wish we had got a taxi home as we would have had a much more peaceful sleep!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Lubyl

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

Unfortunately, due to our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow, some external noise is to be expected. I apologise for the disturbance you state you experienced.

Please be assured that your comments have been passed to our General Manager and the Heads of Department, as this assists us in continually improving our service and property.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I booked this hotel on 14 Sept 2013 (5 weeks ago) for a one night stay on Tuesday 22 October 2013. I received a phone call on 19 October 2013 to say that they had over booked rooms and they could not honour the booking. Its an absolute disgrace at such short notice especially as I have flights booked to travel to Glasgow on this date. They offered to check me into a nearby hotel (not part of the Hilton Group) which is a 3* - at this late stage there are very few 4* hotels available in Glasgow on this date possibly because there is a high profile football match on in the city on this date! Its very poor customer service and vey disappointing especially as a regular user of the Hilton Group. VERY VERY POOR SERVICE AND NO PROPER EXPLANATION GIVEN!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tauras50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Tauras50

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your telephone conversation on 18th October with our Reservations Department.

I apologise if you feel that on this occasion you have not received the high standard of service you have come to expect from Hilton, however having investigated the points you raised, I can assure you of the following:

The alternative accommodation which was offered is a 4* property of a similar standard.
Also, by way of apology and to restore your faith in Hilton, a reduction in your rate and a complimentary upgrade has been arranged for your next visit, later in the year.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The rooms are superb, the height of luxury, with floor-to-ceiling windows and modern decor. The bathrooms are nice, but not very well lit, but the showers were heaven as you'd expect. The breakfast room is also very nice, with a great buffet selection in the mornings. We spent some time in the attached bar which was a little soulless, better to walk down Byer's Road and try your luck.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sarah H

Thank you for your lovely review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that we exceeded your expectations on this stay, and I have shared your compliments with the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor again in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here in September. Whilst the public rooms (foyer, reception, bars) are a bit gloomy and ready for an upgrade the hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable. Buffet breakfast is decent quality

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear David J

It was great to read your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your visit.

We are currently working to improve our public areas, and we thank you for your feedback regarding this.
I have passed your compliments regarding the rooms and breakfast to the entire team and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
767 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Very handy for Hillhead and the university. We had seen this place before on previous visits and wondered what it would be like. We were not disappointed. The place was good overall, nice welcome, big room and excellent breakfast. Recommended.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Donald M

Thank you for reviewing your first visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was great to hear that we lived up to your expectations, and that you'd recommend staying here.

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the West End and I'm delighted that you appreciated that as much as we do.

We look forward to your second visit soon.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#74 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1 - 9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#43 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing