We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but wifi a rip off...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #41 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location but wifi a rip off...”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Location great - perfect for the west end..
Rooms average - 3 out of 5 I'd say - hot - the heating is way too high..
Breakfast not nearly as good as the hilton garden inn near the SECC - orange juice from concentrate and breakfast was included in my rate but the hotel tried to charge me for i until I complained upon check out..

Wireless - 1/10. You get charged 14.99 per day and the signal is HORRENDOUS!!

I complained about the signal but was only credited one day. NOT GOOD ENOUGH HILTON - MOST DECENT HOTELS OFFER FREE IN ROOM WIFI. THE TERRIBLE CONNECTION KEPT BUMPING ME OFF - SO FRUSTRATING..As a result I will try not to come back on business...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank running_bull_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Running_bull_7

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your visit.

I was disheartened to hear that on this occasion we didn't meet the standards you have come to expect, however I have passed your comments regarding the issues you experienced to our Management Team as all feedback assists us in continually improving our service and property.

We appreciate you sharing this with us and hope you choose to return to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    529
    229
    104
    75
See reviews for
254
562
77
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

A very good hotel in the West End of Glasgow. Very convenient for buses, subway and walking into the town centre, but the surrounding area itself is packed with great shops and restaurants. The Botanic Gardens are directly across the road and that's a lovely place to visit. Price of rooms is not too high considering the standard and the location, but you need to park in the Waitrose car park very nearby, which costs £10 a day.

Room Tip: Would be nice to request a room overlooking the Botanical Gardens. Some overlook the car park. But t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Anne C

Thank you for writing a review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor following your recent visit.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow.

Please be assured that I have passed your compliments to our Management Team as all feedback is taken very seriously here at Hilton.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here in March 22nd 2013 , where do we start. For a Hilton this was very poor, it was freezing cold the windows need replaced there was heaters all over the place to make matters worse it took two calls to get someone up to check our room central heating which wasnt working. I then decided to go for a swim to discover I would needed to pay for a taxi to the sister hotel which would have cost a round trip of 13 pounds or thereabouts, the website says it is close by ...... be warned it is not. We booked a room on late rooms and was expecting robes, a fruit basket , chocolates and bottled water there was none of this in the room and had to complain to eventually have these sent up ...... we are still waiting on the robes. I could go on but to say we were disappointed in this would be an understatement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_C187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lot-et-Garonne, France
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
249 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an odd looking hotel - it is half (re-built) Georgian terrace and half a 1980's block but the rooms are superb. Mine overlooked the botanical gardens and had sash windows I could open for real fresh air although they do also have aircon. The room was recently re-decorated and was perfect! Great bed, lovely armchair and desk, fabulous tv and a super bathroom and toiletries. Everything worked! And the mobile phone plug be next to the bed, the mineral water and the little bottle of wine were all very welcome.

The breakfast was great and all of the staff excellent.

This is a great value hotel and I can recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear francophileonthemove

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your room and the location of the hotel.

I have happily passed your compliments about breakfast and the staff to our team as this encourages us to continue providing the best service.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A very warm and helpful welcome, to a great room with everything you would need
including a big bed and lovely fresh linen. we could not fault our stay here whilst visiting Glasgow.
Doorman very helpful always found a cab when we need one

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Scott N

I'd like to thank you for reviewing your visit to the hotel.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular your room and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.

Please be assured that I have fed your compliments back to the Team at the hotel as this encourages us to continually improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is lovely, great location right next to the botanical gardens, and within a ten minute walk from Kelvingrove Museum and gallery. The reception area is beautifully presented and and staff were welcoming and friendly. The bar is big with a good layout. They had a photography display of nature that I really enjoyed as well. The best part of our stay was dinner at Bo'vine it was brilliant. Breakfast was also the best I've ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Stuart G

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your recent visit.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed yourself, as our guests are our main priority. I have passed your compliments onto the team here as this encourages us to continue providing the best service.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent four nights based here before, during and after enjoying a 'Discovering Charles Rennie Mackintosh' weekend organised by Travel Editions. The hotel is very conveniently situated in a vibrant part of the city - opposite the Botanic Gardens, next door to Waitrose in Byres Road and near to the Hillhead subway, the University and Kelvingrove. Our room was comfortable and tastefully furnished with a spacious and well appointed bathroom. We appreciated the shortbread provided on the hospitality tray. Breakfast is served buffet style and we were rather surprised to discover that porridge has to be ordered as a special item. Evening meals were provided for our group on two evenings during our stay in a private room and we offered a good choice of dishes. The service was pleasant and efficient and the presentation of dishes was attractive. We dined out independently on the other two evenings at the nearby Cail Bruich West on Great Western Road, which is the subject of a separate review and recommendation. This is a hotel to which we would certainly return on our next visit to Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Botanic Gardens - those on the other side of the hotel look out over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,293 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
1,950 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing