We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #42 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Got a good deal with 40% off, during Summer sale on Expedia. Friendly welcome at reception, but first impression was of a dark lobby area. Room was small but nicely furnished, with grey wallpaper which actually did look ok. View of roof of building from 1st floor window. Iron and ironing board stowed in the wardrobe, but no in-room tea making facilities. This may have been on request, since I did see top up supplies on the room cleaners trolley. Good location with Botanical Gardens, and lots of shops and restaurants on the doorstep. The hop on / off bus also stops nearby. Free wifi available in lobby.( When will UK hotels get their act together and stop being so mealy mouthed about providing free in room wifi?) Good hot and cold selection for breakfast, with Haggis added. Again the restaurant had a dark and unwelcoming atmosphere, but the service was friendly. Overall I would say that the hotel needs a little brightening up, but on the plus side, the staff are it's biggest asset. Would I stay here again? Yes, if I got the same deal.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main road side are brighter, but no bigger that the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Hospitalier

Thank you for writing a review following your recent visit to the hotel.

It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed the room and our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow.
We provide tea and coffee making facilities as standard, within one of the cabinets within the rooms. Should these be missing, or should our guests have any queries about our in-room facilities, our Front Desk or Housekeeping staff are happy to assist.

I have passed your compliments about the staff to our General Manager as we appreciate all comments regarding our property or service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We picked this hotel as we knew it was conveniently situated for the restaurants in Byres road and for the city centre and it was fine in this respect.Room was well decorated and clean However it was a very hot night and there was no air-con. (We were offered a fan)The window had to be open and we were then subjected to the noise of lorries unloading at the Waitrose supermarket ,as our room was at the rear ,from very early in the morning(about 5am if I remember correctly).
Earlier in the evening there was a private disco which finished at 12.30 and I complained to a member of staff about the state of the downstairs washroom which was lacking tissue in some of the loos but had copious amounts on the floor around the unemptied litter bins.
Breakfast on the first morning was very good with lots of choice but on the Sunday morning the food ran out long before the breakfast time was finished and was not replenished.
Disappointing, Glasgow can do better than this!

Room Tip: Ak for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanrosalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear susanrosalind

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your recent visit.

It was disappointing to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay, however I have passed your comments to our General Manager and Heads of Department to feed back to our staff.

Unfortunately, as the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor is a Grade A listed building, we have yet to be granted permission to install air conditioning units within the bedrooms. This is something we are striving towards and feedback such as yours strengthens our case.

We regularly clean our public washrooms and other areas, and we thank you for highlighting the problem you experienced which was rectified immediately.

We hope you choose to return to the HIlton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel was a real disappointment. We had booked a superior double room which was to include robes and chocolates, but no breakfast. I thought it was a bit odd when I booked it as I had expected a breakfast to be included given it was a superior room. I was then informed breakfast was available for £9.50 each morning. The room was not a superior room I have to say. We got one chocolate each and the robes were a bit "washed in"...
There's not enough info about the parking nd we were conned into paying £10 each day to park on the roof of Waitrose..
The hotel staff were ok. The girl at reception was nice but the porter wasnt really very swiched on. He stood and watch us log our heavy bags to the front door. I would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Karen M

Firstly, thank you for reviewing the hotel following your stay here.

I was sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet the high standards you've come to expect from Hilton.
We offer booking options both including and excluding breakfast to give our guests greater freedom and choice and this should be explained at the time of booking.
Due to our location in the heart of the West End of Glasgow, parking is limited, however our Front Desk staff are happy to advise you of the parking facilities in the surrounding area.

Please be assured that I have passed your comments regarding our staff to our General Manager and Heads of Department, as feedback is taken seriously here at the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night, very good accommodation, very good food, very good location. There are many quality bars and restaurants near by, but no need to venture outside as the food, including the wonderful Hilton breakfast was cooked and presented as one would expect.

Also nearby is the Botanic Gardens for a pleasant stroll.

Thoroughly pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Mick D

Thanks for your review of the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor.

It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed your visit, the hotel facilities and the location and have passed your compliments on to our Heads of Department.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have just returned home following a 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel. I enjoyed my stay immensely and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.

My stay was predominantly for business and the hotel suited all my requirements perfectly. My room was a comfortable working office space in luxurious surroundings. The colour scheme of the room was stunning, chrome brushed steel and mirrors adding to the modern, clean cut finish and very tastefully decorated room. A sumptuously soft bed with the silkiest of bedding made for a restful night's sleep... which was pleasantly undisturbed, by either noise or daylight.

The standard of cleanliness, attention to detail and friendliness of staff made me feel welcome and when I required some documents colour printed, it was done quickly and professionally.

I enjoyed a delicious 'Hilton breakfast' and it really is worth every word of it's reputation... simply delicious.

The hotel staff and building does the Hilton brand exceptionally proud, and I would be delighted to return to this hotel.

Location: A short underground trip from the city centre (Stop at Hillhead underground) makes the location as good as any city centre hotel. The hotel is along Byres Road, and the nightlife here is highly recommended, with lovely restaurants and bars. I never had an opportunity to experience it on this occasion... but it's now on my to do list.

Shops nearby: Right next door Waitrose. Along the road Marks & Spencers simply food. Tesco express, Subway, Taco Takeway, Fish & Chip shop.

The only reason I didn't give a 5 star review was that on the friday night, at the end of my stay, there was a céilidh on downstairs and the noise carried just a bit too far to be regarded as acceptable, in my opinion. Fortunately I had headphones and I was tired and so I did manage to get off to sleep, but it did spoil an otherwise perfect 3 night stay.

Room Tip: If you are staying at a weekend, ask to be located away from the possibility of a noisy function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkpinkfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear pinkpinkfizz

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your visit.

It was lovely to hear that you would recommend the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor to others and that you enjoyed your stay. It was especially pleasing that you loved our bedrooms and our attention to detail, and I have passed your compliments about the staff to our General Manager and Heads of Department, as feedback such as this only encourages us to continue providing the best guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Making a nostalgic trip to the city we chose this hotel for its west end location on a terrace off the Great Western Road. As such it was easily located from the motorway, an added advantage. We found the hotel very comfortable with pleasantly decorated rooms, and a bed and pillows we could sink into at the end of each days busy sightseeing.
We found the staff unfailingly pleasant and very helpful throughout our four night stay. We were lucky enough to get a parking spot right outside the hotel, and either walked, used the open top bus, public transport (the nearest underground station is just a stones throw away on Byers Road) or the numerous taxis that are available. If you should not be so lucky, then parking is also availale in the Waitrose car park next door, at a cost of £10 per day.
We found that the breakfasts offered everything you could possibly wish for from full scottish to minimalist continental and everything in between. We only ate in the dining room once in the evening, the choices being mainy of the grilled variety, but pleasant enough. We usually preferred to sample some of the local restaurants roundabout, as there was a great variety of choices of differing prices and cuisines. We paid £91 per night for bed and breakfast.
Keep in mind that Grosvenor Terrace runs alongside the Great Western Road which is busy almost 24 hours a day and if you are a light sleeper you would be wise to ask for a room at the back of the hotel, but as we were at the front we have no way of knowing if these are the same as the rooms at the front. The traffic noise didn't bother us in the least however.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again if/when we return to Glasgow.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may well be quieter, but as we wereat the frontwe don't know the standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear petally

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially the location and our buffet breakfast. I hope that you enjoyed your return to the area and that you choose to come back again soon.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed at the sister flagship Hilton (William St) several times but this is much better value. Our double room with breakfast was £90 as opposed to £135 at William St. Location is much better-Byres road is in the West End, near the University, and Ashton Gate (restaurants and bars). Service was fine, rooms clean and perfectly adequate. Breakfast is self service as per Wiliam St but far less frenetic and noisy. The only downside is £15 for wi-fi access in our room (free in the public areas) which we didn't pay for and £3.95 for a bottle of Strathmore mineral water in our room (£1 at Majestic Wine)ditto, but these are minor quibles. Keep an eye out for promotions-often Hilton has sales at 30% off room rates and we were able to upgrade on the day to a superior room for £6, Didn't try the, in house,Bovine restaurant as there is so much choice on Byres Road/Ashton Gate-there's an excellent Italian restaurant called Paperino, 3 mins walk from the hotel

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade when you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speriamo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loraine B, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear speriamo_10

Thanks for reviewing the hotel following your recent visit.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel both good value for money and in a fantastic location in the heart of the West End.
All feedback we receive is appreciated, as is the time you have taken to share your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor in the future.

Kind Regards
Loraine Bolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,417 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,008 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,359 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 1-9 Grosvenor Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#23 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#42 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $107 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Glasgow's vibrant and bustling West End and within walking distance of Glasgow University, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel is the perfect place to stay during your visit to Scotland's biggest city. Excellent transport links give Guests easy access to the SECC, Glasgow city center and Glasgow International Airport. Enjoy great local produce in the highly acclaimed Bo'vine Restaurant and fabulous cocktails in the award winning bobar. Complimentary access to the leisure facilities at the nearby Hilton Glasgow hotel allows you to relax and rejuvenate in the indoor pool and fully-equipped fitness center. Offering friendly, responsive and professional service in a highly desirable setting, the Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor hotel has everything you need to make the most of your time in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Hilton
Hilton Glasgow Grosvenor Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing