We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with ample parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed here for two nights to start our trip around Scotland. Hotel is not in the best of locations however only takes 15mins to walk into the centre and if you want a hotel that is not too expensive and has ample parking, this would suit. Room was clean and shower was great. Receptionist on check in was very friendly and polite. Had all you can eat buffet breakfast both mornings which had a good choice where you could eat as much or as little as you wanted. Bar in the hotel which was good if you wanted a quick night cap before going to bed. There was also a restaurant area for evening meals. We did not eat here but the menu choice looked nice and varied. Would recommend staying here if you want a reasonably priced hotel with parking and basic facilities where you can stay whilst exploring Glasgow.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have been taking breaks at this hotel almost since it opened as a Premier Hotel (I think it was a Tulip Hotel before). We have stayed here three times this year and although on occassion we may have had a problem i.e. shower not working or some such thing the staff have always been excellent, some have been there from almost the very first time we stayed (not many hotels keep staff that long) that must say something. Once again we had a very pleasant stay despite there being a party on in the function rooms and a coach party in. Very little noise which stopped vell before midnight and we slept well. Breakfast was good (Buffet style) which for me is a little overpriced I wish they would put on a cheaper version for those of us who just want a cup of tea and some toast, rather than make us pay for those who have the full cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnb52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The lift was broken for the whole 5 days I was there. This was also the case on my previous visit. I was locked out one night as my key would not open the door, there was no reply from reception, so another guest and myself had to force the door. I still have the bruises. I was also locked out of my room on two occasions, and with the broken lift, had to trundle up and down stairs. The staff were lovely, but £68 for a room with no breakfast, is not Budget price, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingerspecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We do apologise that you were disappointed with your overall stay with us, it is always our intentions to ensure all our guest have a good nights sleep and a pleasant stay. Please be assured we will investigate your comments and they will be duly followed up with the management team at our Glasgow City Centre South hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

This hotel was walking distance from the city center so it was very convenient. I'm glad my mother and I only decided to stay for one night in Glasgow, because the city wasn't that great and neither was the hotel. The hotel isn't located in the nicest area, and the walk to Glasgow Cathedral from the hotel is short, but you walk through a desolate area full of run down or closed shops. The hotel itself had a nice entrance, and the room was decent and spacious, but the bathroom was in serious need of refurbishment. Not only was the ventilator rusty, but there was a lot of mold. The staircase to go up to the first floor was in disrepair. On top of that, you have to pay to use WiFi in the hotel, and the price is exorbitant! Breakfast in the morning was an extra charge as well. The hotel staff was inadequately trained as well. When we called to find driving directions, the person who answered the phone didn't even know the cross street of the hotel. When we left, I asked them for the nearest gas station, and they couldn't help us out there either. One lady was nice enough to suggest a street we could go on to find one though. I just ended up using google, which was better informed. Definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrishLovesHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2010

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We are disappointed that your did not enjoy your visit to Glasgow. At Premier Inn it matters to us that you enjoy your stay and we take the service provided to our guests very seriously. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up with the Management Team at our Glasgow hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated in our endeavours to improve standards and meet all our customers requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Chose this hotel for its location as was attending the Paul McCartney concert at Hampden Park. We arrived just after 2pm and had to queue from outside to check in - the staff did continue to apologise and explained that the hotel had been full the evening before and was fully booked again and that some rooms were not ready.
The reception staff were very well prepared with pre-printed maps for anyone wishing to walk to the stadium - however be aware they did say it would be a 15 to 20 minute walk although it was more like a 35 minute walk. There was also an option of a bus from the hotel to take you to the stadium - nice touch.
The rooms were fine, very clean and there was plenty of free parking. The bar got very busy as people returned to the hotel in the evening but that was not a real problem. I cannot comment on breakfast as we did not have the time to eat at the hotel but would definitely choose to stay here again if attending Hampden for any reason

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TartanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The hotel is in a great location, about 10 mins walk from the city centre. Plenty of free parking as well. Staff were very friendly and helpful (although a little busy and stressed when we checked in I think!), one lady took time to point out exactly where I could find a supermarket and get the the city centre.
Room was a decent size, very clean, very comfortable bed and a great shower. Best of all, it was really quiet, even though we were told the hotel was full and we had a great nights sleep. Breakfast also really good. Can't really fault it for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mky337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed here overnight after week in Spain before heading home. First visit, easy to find, free onsite parking. Everything well explained to us by Julius on arrival, he was very pleasant and a credit to the hotel. Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that. Ideally located for where we wanted to visit. Although our room was overlooking a busy road, it didn't stop us sleeping. Hotel was full with coach parties the weekend we stayed but we didn't hear any noise, may have been due to the location of our room at the end of the first floor, right on the corner of the building, tucked away by itself - perfect. Have booked further weekends away here on the strength of this first visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that our hotel, location and facilities met your expectations and your first experience with Premier Inn was a good one. Thank you for your feedback regarding our team member Julius. He will be delighted to receive your comments as our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,694 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#29 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $60 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing