We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Glasgow..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Glasgow..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stay there often. Sometimes just with my son when on a football trip or come 4 a few days with my partner 4 a little break back in my homeland.. Couldn't wish 2 meet better staff. Manager is a great fella. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Glasgow.. Rooms beautifull very clean hotel throughout, breakfast spot on. Comfortable 2 sit 4 a pint in the evening. But I must say the manager & his staff really make this place brilliant.. Back on man the 10th can't wait..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear John S,

Many thanks for the lovely review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South.
I am pleased to see that you enjoy the rooms and the food as the team work really hard to deliver the best service to all our guests.

It is also great to see that you appreciate how we look after you and your family. We like to get to know our guests, and make them feel welcome and looked after. I will pass your comments on to the team and I am sure they will be delighted to read them also.

I hope you and your family have a lovely Christmas, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South in the new year.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    325
    66
    21
    21
See reviews for
277
391
63
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here overnight, having gone to Glasgow to see Alex Ferguson's interview. The room was clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom. Breakfast was very good. The only disappointment came during our evening meal. We had booked to eat at 9.15pm. Everything progressed well through starters and the main courses and the food was very good. however, when we asked to order puddings, we were told the kitchen had closed. We were disappointed and do not think this is good customer service. We had not spent an unduly long time on our first two courses and I feel that if the hotel offers a 9.15 sitting for dinner, the full menu should be available or guests should at least be made aware in advance that it may not be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twiceover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Twiceover2,

Many thanks for your review of Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South.
I am glad you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed the breakfast and our rooms which the team wor really hard to deliver.

I was dissapointed to see that the experience you had at dinner was not of the standard that we deliver. I can assure you that we will be looking into the issue that you have raised, and will be dealing with it to ensure that this will not happen again.

If you would like to discuss this matter with me, I would be more than happy to do so, and hopefully reassure you that next time you stay with us, you will receive a much better standard of service. My email address is operationsmanager.glasgowcitycentresouth@whitbread.com.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and we would definitely come back again. We've attended two live music events so the location is perfect as it is just a short walk across to Glasgow Green and along to the Barrowlands. If you like shopping, Argyle Street, etc is a 10-15 minute stroll. The staff are all very welcoming and friendly and the hotel is spotless. We requested the same (lovely large) room we had stayed in before and they managed to accommodate us so we were delighted. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the food is lovely! You can also park safely here (free for guests) which is a huge plus. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Justine G,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. I hope you enjoyed your concerts, and should you have any more coming in the future, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Premier Inn.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having seen many Premier Travel Inn adverts for a '£29 room' but never been able to find one, my wife and I could not resist taking a room on Sunday for the aforementioned price. We were very pleased to find the usual standard of room cleanliness and quiet night promise, as in other PT Inns.
This particular one suited our needs perfectly as we enjoyed the walk over the Victoria Bridge into central Glasgow (10 mins) and we didn't want to eat in. The car park was very good and the staff could not have been more helpful and Sunday night did indeed (with an advanced booking) cost £29. A real bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doncasterover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Doncasterover,

We are delighted that your stay withPremier Inn Glasgow City Centre South met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests.I have passed your review onto our team who will be delighted to read your comments.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to deliver the best service.
We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff were unfailingly bright, welcoming and helpful and the room, restaurant and lounge modern and very comfortable. Gorbals isn't what it used to be. Great value and a hop and a step from the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Allan B,

Thanks for your feedback regarding Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay, and I was delighted to read that we managed to make your stay so pleasant.
Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 1 night and must say it's very good. Room was spotless and had a lovely clean soft bed. Usually stay at other premier inns in Glasgow but will start using this one in future. 10/10. food in restaurant was very nice with lovely friendly staff. Breakfast was all fresh and good quality.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrenstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Warrenstacey,

Many thanks for your lovely review. We were delighted to read your comments, its fantastic to hear that we contributed towards making your stay at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South so enjoyable. I shall pass on your comments about the food to our kitchen team who will be pleased to hear they contributed to your stay.
We hope to see you again very soon. Thank you once again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Arrived very late before a Commonwealth games interview. Was greeted by a very friendly receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful. Had a great nights sleep and was really close to the city centre and fresh for my interview the next day.
I often stay at Premier Inns and this was certainly one off the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phill_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Phill_Essex,

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Glasgow city Centre South. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. I hope your interview went well, and we will keep our fingers crossed for you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing