We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great choice...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night whilst in Glasgow on a business trip. Was more than surprised as the onsite parking was good and free. The rooms where clean and the mattress was great. The breakfast was brilliant for a budget hotel. No complaints at all and would definitely stay again. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kul555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Kul555,

Thank you for your review with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and great facilities met your expectations. We are very lucky to have the car parking facility here, and i am delighted to note you enjoyed the breakfast!
Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service.
We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    330
    69
    23
    22
See reviews for
283
398
64
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at the Premier Inn in Glasgow. This particular Premier Inn is bigger than the city centre Premier Inn and has decent service. The location is pretty good with easy access to the city centre and other tourist locations.

Decent breakfast and overall a good no fuss stay at £29 per night. Now that's a good deal.

Room Tip: Don't take a road facing room as they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Heminbharucha,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a good stay and you found our location convenient during your travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Don't be put off by the ancient reputation and images of Gorbals. This was a hotel south of the river with excellent, clean facilities and safe parking.
I had read reviews of the hotel, emphasising the safe parking (rather than in public car parks in the city centre hotels) - and the reviews were right. It was an easy walk over the bridge to the main city centre with restaurants etc.
Breakfast at the hotel was excellent and really good value. Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
We'd definitely book again if staying in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Jenny B,

Many thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. It is a bonus for us to have the car parking facility on site, and it is certainly a big help as you say when you want to go and explore the city centre without the worry of parking.
We’re so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us here at Premier Inn glasgow City Centre South, and we do hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynedd North Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is situated just out of the town approximately 10 mins walk to the centre. This was a bad area years ago but it but with redevelopment it is now a lovely interesting place. My wife and I felt safe walking around the area and Glasgow City. The food at the hotel is very good and the service is with a smile. Reception greeted us every morning as we passed and were helpful with directions and maps.
The room was warm and the TV must have been at least 37 inches if not more. We had a lovely walk in shower and the water power was excellent. Our room was always cleaned to our satisfaction each day. We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights it is very convenient for the motorway M6 M8 A74.
We would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Phone up before you arrive and talk to reception confirm your booking and room, they are very helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Stephen C K,

Thanks for your review. Its great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us here at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this.I hope the weather was as pleasant for your walks round the city as the walk itself!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungloe Co.Donegal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just spent a lovely 4 night stay in this hotel. It is everything that recent reviewers have said. Rooms large and clean and modern. We had 2 rooms booked (1 a disabled room). There was an adjoining door between both rooms which was great. Hotel very well positioned for city centre. We ate in the restaurant every night on the meal deal which meant you got breakfast every morning. Food was very nice and tasty but think the selected meals chosen on the meal deal menu could be more varied as the choice was limited.Staff very nice at reception and restaurant. WIFI poor but think there was technical problems while we there. I travelled with my mum and sister and planning on returning soon with my husband who has not been in scotland for 20 years. We travelled to fife for a day and happened to say so to a member of staff in the morning and when we returned in the afternoon 2 members of staff enquired how we enjoyed our day. Highly recomend this hotel, it a gem!!!!!

Room Tip: 119 and 121 adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear erin723,

Thank you for your review with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South. We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that our hotel, and great facilities met your expectations. I have noted your comments on the WIFI and it is something we are working to rectify. I am delighted to note that the team were so attentive and i would hope to have the opportunity to deliver that same level of service when you and your husband visit us.

Our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. We look forward to welcoming back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed at this Premier inn for two nights when I traveled to Glasgow to take part in the Pedal for Scotland cycling event. The location was perfect - close to the Glasgow Green start and free, secure parking was a welcome benefit. The staff were clearly committed to making our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The personal touch they demonstrated is rare these days. The rooms were to the usual high standard and the power shower with instant hot water was divine. The wide selection of food is also good as was the service. Very clean, friendly and professional. I will be back here the next time I visit Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraydonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear GraydonN,

We are delighted that your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. I hope your bike ride was as comfortable, and at least the warm shower would help your aches and pains!
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to deliver the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ullapool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We would recommend this hotel as it is very close to the city centre.
We were able to arrive late without any hassles as reception was opened. We were at a wedding and didn't know when we would be arriving so it was good to be able to walk in extremely late 0130 without access problems because we were late. Our room was comfortable and the breakfast was very good value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrietta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Manager at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Henrietta M,
We are delighted that your stay with Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to deliver the best service.
We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future
Kindest regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing