We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Ranked #20 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The room had mould around shower.
This is always off putting and is something hotel management should never allow to happen.
The room itself was fine - perhaps in need of redecoration
Food in reception area was good - pleasant staff, quick service and food good.
Not the best premier inn.
All rooms have shower - (i asked if they had a bath)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    344
    77
    24
    22
See reviews for
290
421
66
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel was easy to find and parking was available at the hotel throughout my week's stay. I found the accommodation to be comfortable and clean. Food was good, and the staff were attentive and very pleasant. In addition, it was a straightforward, 5-minute walk to the subway and just 5 minutes more to the city centre. I would readily recommend the hotel to anyone proposing to visit Glasgow - excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Free parking, easy access to the city centre, and pretty quiet at night.Stayed for 5 nights from Sunday, and would return.
Restaurant service was a bit of a let down, but ate out most nights as there is such a great choice in the Merchant City area, 10 min walk away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here before a gig having stayed 2 or 3 times previous in the last few years and have found it to be one of the best Premier Inn's I've stayed in. Without fail the rooms are always clean, the showers really good and the beds nice and comfy. This was the first time I'd taken the car here and there was plenty of parking available.

Only negative was that when I went to get some toast in the morning I found the bread to be mouldy. This was pretty disgusting and would not expect this from any hotel, especially one where you are paying £7.99 for the privilege. I don't usually get the Premier Inn breakfast due to the high price but did on this occasion due to convenience. A tip would be to get up earlier and travel into the city centre where there are many tastier and cheaper alternatives for breakfast.

Overall based on the room I give this hotel 4.5 / 5, rounded up to 5. I've stayed here before and have a booking for next month also and will continue to stay here during most visits to Glasgow.

Pro's: One of the comfiest and best value Premier Inn's out there and in a decent location for visiting Glasgow, ample parking.

Con's: Mouldy toast and the rip off Premier Inn breakfast price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Another great stay in this hotel. The staff are friendly, professional and very efficient. Our every need was catered for and our requests were dealt with promptly and efficiently. If the hotel provided a daily paper outlet, it would absolutely perfect. Car parking is excellent and a short walk takes you into the centre of the city. All in all, a great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

After reading great reviews we where lookin forward to this stay, Room 120 is above kitchen, constant noise and vibration in room horrid nights stay. Given refund and duty manager agreed the noise not acceptable but had no other rooms to give us, not even offered any other premier in rooms in other hotels in Glasgow. I have seen reviews about the welcome which was fantastic, but when you complain the young lad on reception starts shouting down the phone at you. The food was excellent however. Complained to customer services via email and no response.

Room Tip: Don't accept room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

After a seven and a half hour train journey, we arrived at this hotel to be greeted by a young man on reception with the biggest smile and sunniest nature ever. What a gem he is! He checked us in swiftly and asked how our day had been AND was genuinely interested in us. If only all receptionists were like him......
Our room was at the front of the hotel next to the main road but was very quiet, hardly any traffic noise. The room was spotless, everything was perfect.
We were attending a concert at the SECC, which was very easy to get to - a short walk to Argyle Street station for a short train ride. We felt safe walking back to the hotel late at night.
We didn't eat at the hotel due to a shortage of time, but the restaurant looked nice and the menu appetising.
When we checked out the same young man was on duty. Again, he was so cheerful and happy. Had a good natter before we left with a smile on our faces.
Will definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morvenscaraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#32 of 95 in Glasgow
3,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Address: 80 Ballater Street, Glasgow G5 0TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > South Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#4 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
#9 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#10 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotland's first and only curved hotel - 5 min walk from the main attractions of Glasgow City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Glasgow
Tulip Glasgow
Glasgow Premier Inn
Tulip Inn Glasgow
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing