We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

A Play a Pie and a Pint
Ranked #3 of 28 Concerts & Shows in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to A Play, A Pie and A Pint at Òran Mór, the UK's most successful lunchtime theatre programme. Bringing you a new play every week (42 weeks of the year) running from Mondays to Saturdays at 1pm. Whether you are looking for something to do on your lunch break, socialise with friends or want to check out some original drama, come along for A Play, A Pie and A Pint.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic value. Dies exactly what it says on the tin! A short one hour pay - changes weekly - a typical scotch meat pie and a drink ( beer, wine or soft drink) for about £10 (slightly different depending on day of the week) . Just go - you'll love it ( or maybe nov, but it willm e something to talk about!!!)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZeoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    69
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fun, kitschy time”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Takes place in a great old church converted into a playhouse. Grab a few pints and a shepherds pie to soak it up and enjoy the show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Another visit to this unique lunchtime venue and another great laugh in a play which gave everyone a big surprise (DALGETY) The ubiquitous pie and gravy, or quiche, with beer or wine and a great atmosphere . If any travellers are in this fair city I recommend A pie, a pint and a play in The Oran Mhor at lunchtime should be on your agenda. Book on the internet if you can which saves you waiting at the ticket office. There is always a rush for a decent seat, a bit like that Irish airline lol.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Braveass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helensburgh --Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“grest afternoon”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

this is situated in Oran Mor and is a lovely afternoon play for about 40 minutes and ticket entitles you to a pie and pint or glass of wine,Some big names appear at these events we saw Robbie Coltraine at our visit. excellent short stories

Helpful?
Thank learig29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fabulous and different experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We saw this on Tripadvisor and thought we would have ago due to the good reviews and what a great little ' alternative ' experience.
We prebooked tickets which are £9 a head ( reduced to £8 on Wednesday and £12.50 at the weekend) with a £1 booking fee.You can book on the day or buy at the box office to avoid the fee!.
The place is relatively easy to find in an old church building at the top of Byres road almost opposite the Botanic Gardens. The parking was more difficult but we found free spaces on the road going out past the BG.
For the price you get a small meat pie/ quiche and a pint/ glass of wine/ pint of soft drink and a 50 minute play
The acting and play were fab and was suitable for more mature teenagers and adults.In July they apparently do a mini panto which I am sure would be suitable for early teens as well.
A great experience which I would highly recommend

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank drdrjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Play a Pie and a Pint also viewed

 

Been to A Play a Pie and a Pint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing